Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MN

Minnesota beef farmers recognized at annual convention

Slideshow: Producers who manage the Minnesota State Cattlemen’s Farmfest food booth receive the “Cattlemen of the Year Award.”

At the 2018 annual convention of the Minnesota State Cattlemen’s Association, held Dec. 7 in Alexandria, a number of producers and organizations were honored for their work to help promote the state’s beef industry.

Awards given and those receiving recognition were:

Minnesota Cattlemen of the Year Award. The team of producers who stepped up a decade ago and continue to volunteer and manage the MSCA food booth at Farmfest each year. Acknowledged for their leadership were Krist Wollum, Porter; Dick and Judy Pesek, Taunton; Grant and Dawn Breitkreutz, Redwood Falls; and Mark Malacek, Morgan.

Minnesota Cattlewoman Lifetime Achievement. Vicky Fick, Lake City.

• Minnesota Beef Council’s Beef Prime Promoter. Marshall County Ag Association, Warren. Accepting the award at the program was Alysa Tulibaski, University of Minnesota Extension 4-H program coordinator.

• Minnesota Cattlewoman of the Year. Jennifer Schiefelbein, Kimball.

• Orbiter Award. Juanita Boniface, Oak Grove, and presenter Conrad Kvamme, Orbit Farms, Arlington.

• Minnesota Cattlemen’s Beef Industry Service Award. Dave Frederickson, Minnesota Department of Agriculture commissioner.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.