is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN
Many Master Farmer Families Still Active in Agriculture

Many Master Farmer Families Still Active in Agriculture

See who has been a Master Farmer, and nominate someone now!

This is the second installment of a rundown of past honorees in the Indiana Prairie Farmer Master Farmer program in the modern era. The Purdue University College of Agriculture co-sponsors the program now. This year's ceremony will be Tuesday night, June 25 at the Clinton County Fairgrounds. It will also double as the evening program for the Indiana Farm Management Tour, slated for Clinton County on June 25 and June 26.

Submit your nominations now for Indiana Prairie Farmer Master Farmer.

There is still time to nominate someone for the award. Nominations must come from the public – editors can't nominate candidates. Find the nomination form by clicking on 'Master Farmer' on the left side of the home page. The form and six letters of nomination should be mailed to Indiana Prairie Farmer, P.O. Box 247, Franklin, Ind. The nomination submission must be postmarked by Feb. 15.

Here are awardees from 1976 through 1985. If you know one of these people has passed away and he or she is not marked deceased, please let us know at

For 1976: John Keithley, Ralph Kennedy, Gilbert H. Schmidt (deceased), David C. Salomon, Cecil P. Westerhouse (deceased).

For 1977: Marjorie Colglazier (deceased), Kenneth Culp, Robert Morgan, Harold L. Myers, Maurice B. Woodward.

For 1978: William Congleton, Frank C. Forster (deceased), John V. Maloney; George W. Pickering (deceased), Jerry D. Roberts.

For 1979: Lawrence (Sonny) Beck, Donald W. Brown (deceased), Roger F. Doerstler (deceased), Thomas E. Howell (deceased), and Jack W. Torr (deceased). 

For 1980: Lloyd A. Arthur (deceased), Charles A. Kirlin, O. William Mann; Thomas E. Murray; Raymond E. Musselman (deceased).

For 1981: O.T. (Ted) Blank, Gary Clark, Arthur Colbert (deceased), Burch R. Harlan, Ralph E. Mautz.

For 1982: Beryl (Jake) Grimme, Sylvan W. Ice, Robert G. Persinger, Dale Smith, Donald H. Strietelmeier

For 1983: William Howard Adler (deceased), Phil Boring, Tom Simons, Bill Smiley, Howard E. Springer

For 1984: Pete Clark, John Hardin, Jr., Jim Martin (deceased), Philip A. Maxwell (deceased), and Harold Wilson (deceased).

For 1985: Herman Bullard (deceased), C. Ray Lamb, Warren Harlan (deceased), Richard L. Welty and Don Villwock.

Again, please let us know if one of these persons is incorrectly marked so we can update our records.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.