is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Louisiana Soybean Assn. meets Jan. 19

Soybean group seeks new members. Members can earn credit for four bags of soybean seed. Farm bill update and legislative report.

Soybeans will be the focus Jan. 19 at the Dewitt Livestock Facility, Dean Lee Research Station, Alexandria, La., the site of the Louisiana Soybean Association’s annual meeting.

Registration, as well as an LSA membership drive, begins at 11:50 a.m.

Membership costs are $55 per year or $155 for three-year memberships. To increase its representation on the national level, the LSA is seeking new members to be a part of its organization. By purchasing a three-year membership the new or renewing member will receive credit for four bags of seed at his respective seed dealership.

After paying for a three-year membership and purchasing seed, members are asked to send in a copy of the receipt (including location where seed was purchased) to LSA by June 30. The account at the given seed dealership will then be credited for four bags by the respective seed representative.

Seed companies participating in the LSA membership drive are: Deltapine/Asgrow Seed Brands, Croplan Genetics, Delta Grow, NK/Syngenta Seed, NC+, Pioneer and Terral.

At noon, Allen Nipper, professor and central region director, will offer a brief welcome, followed by lunch. The meal is sponsored by Louisiana Soybean and Grain Research and Promotion Board.

The LSA business meeting will begin at 12:40 p.m., with President Joey Oliver presiding. Charles Cannatella will provide an ASA update. Ron Levy will then give a membership/treasury report. Next will be a farm bill update and Louisiana Farm Bureau legislative report from Kyle McCann.

Election of new officers for the 2011 calendar year will then follow the speakers.

David Bollich, Louisiana Farm Bureau Marketing, will wrap up the LSA annual meeting with a soybean market outlook.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.