Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Seven Louisiana parishes included in disaster declaration

Seven Louisiana parishes included in drought disaster declaration. Farmers in those parishes eligible for USDA programs.

Seven Louisiana parishes have been included in a USDA drought disaster declaration.

USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack designated 213 Texas counties as primary disaster area due to drought and related adversities. Seven Louisiana parishes that are contiguous to the Texas counties are included in the declaration. The parishes are Beauregard, Caddo, DeSoto, Sabine, Vernon, Calcasieu and Cameron.

Louisiana Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., said the disaster designation makes farm operators in the primary counties and contiguous parishes eligible for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program.

Farmers in the eligible parishes have eight months from the June 24 declaration date to apply for the emergency loan assistance.

Farm operators should contact their local FSA office for more information.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.