Wisconsin Agriculturist Logo

A total of 266 entries were evaluated, and more than $26,000 in cash prizes was awarded.

Fran O'Leary, Wisconsin Agriculturist Editor

October 5, 2020

3 Min Read
A close up of a farmer sitting in a barn wearing a yellow cap and looking off into the distance
GRAND CHAMPION: David Hinman, owner of Hardrock Farms of Wheatland, Wyo., was named Grand Champion Forage Producer with his Commercial Hay entry. Mike Rankin

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which forced the cancellation of World Dairy Expo in Madison, Wis., the 37th World Forage Analysis Superbowl Awards Luncheon was held virtually on Sept. 30 in Fort Atkinson, Wis.

Doug Harland with Dairyland Laboratories Inc. said a total of 266 entries from 16 states were evaluated for the 2020 World Forage Analysis Superbowl. Winners shared cash prizes totaling more than $26,000. Awards were presented to the top five finishers in each category during the virtual event.

Mike Rankin, editor of Hay & Forage Grower magazine, said contest organizers were quite pleased with the number and quality of entries this year.

“Haymaking goes on whether we have a pandemic or not,” Rankin said. “Last spring, the committee decided we were going to have a contest no matter if there was a show or not. It doesn’t look like the pandemic impacted forage quality this year.”

And the winners are …

Several producers received a number of awards for their entries in this year’s competition. With a relative forage quality of 405 and a milk-per-ton score of 4,062 pounds, David Hinman of Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, Wyo., was named Grand Champion Forage Producer with his Commercial Hay entry and was presented $2,500 from Kemin Animal Nutrition & Health. The Grand Champion First-Time Entrant cash award of $2,000, sponsored by Kuhn North America, was presented to Dividing Ridge Farm, Fairhope, Pa.

Additionally, two Quality Counts Awards were presented to competitors. In the area of Quality Counts Corn Silage, Johnson Farms LLC, Daggett, Mich., took home top honors. The top award for the Quality Counts Hay/Haylage went to Lazy 2K, Wheatland, Wyo., and was sponsored by Croplan by WinField. Each of these growers received a check for $2,000.

Following is a list of winners and the number of entries in each category. The grand champion (first-place winner) in each category received a check for $1,500. The top five placings from each category are:

Baleage, sponsored by Agri-King Inc. (19 entries)

  1. Kendall Guither, Walnut, Ill.

  2. Jenson Family Farms, Elk Mound, Wis.

  3. Joseph Beachy, Bonduel, Wis.

  4. Evergreen View LLC, Waldo, Wis.

  5. Katherine Guither, Walnut, Ill.

Commercial Hay, sponsored by NexGrow Alfalfa (13 entries)

  1. Bappe Farm, Riverton, Wyo.

  2. Lazy 2K, Wheatland, Wyo.

  3. Cross Roads Farm LLC, Center, Colo.

  4. Rooster Ranch, Casper, Wyo.

  5. Dick and Powell Farm, Cordell, Okla.

Dairy Hay, sponsored by W-L Alfalfa (13 entries)

  1. Lester Zimmerman, Penn Yan, N.Y.

  2. Don and Nancy Hasselquist, Osceola, Wis.

  3. Olson Farms, Lena, Wis.

  4. Agreda Acres, Byron, Ill.

  5. Town and Country Farms, Melrose, Wis.

Grass Hay, sponsored by Barenbrug USA (13 entries)

  1. Lazy 2K, Wheatland, Wyo.

  2. Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, Wyo.

  3. Stefan Hay Co., North Collins, N.Y.

  4. Olson Farms, Lena, Wis.

  5. Joseph Beachy, Bonduel, Wis.

Alfalfa Haylage, sponsored by Ag-Bag by RCI (39 entries)

  1. Corner Oak Farm, Grand Blanc, Mich.

  2. Royal Vista Holsteins, Pickett, Wis.

  3. Ethan Haywood, Hastings, Mich.

  4. Sand Creek Dairy, Hastings, Mich.

  5. Austin Haywood, Hastings, Mich.

Mixed/Grass Haylage, sponsored by Lallemand Animal Nutrition (14 entries)

  1. Olson Farms, Lena, Wis.

  2. Legacy Farms, Shell Lake, Wis.

  3. Brost Farms, Medford, Wis.

  4. Morning View Dairy LLC, Merrill, Wis.

  5. Leuer Dairy, Oconto, Wis.

Standard Corn Silage, sponsored by Scherer Inc. (26 entries)

  1. Jenson Family Farms, Elk Mound, Wis.

  2. Cla-Cor Dairy, Eastony, Mo.

  3. Johnson Farms LLC, Daggett, Mich

  4. Platte/Spitzley Dairy, Westphalia, Mich.

  5. O’Harrows Family Farm, Oconto Falls, Wis.

BMR Corn Silage, sponsored by Brevant seeds (129 entries)

  1. West-Vale-Vu Dairy, Nashville, Mich.

  2. Barbland Farms-South, Fabius, N.Y.

  3. Dale Amstutz, Sterling, Ohio

  4. Raes Dairy LLC, Phelps, N.Y.

  5. Thornapple Farms, Leicester, N.Y.

In addition to the division and special awards sponsors listed here, the 2020 World Forage Analysis Superbowl was made possible by platinum sponsor Brevant seeds. Additional support was provided by general sponsors New Holland, National Hay Association, Passion Ag Inc. and Provimi.

The World Forage Analysis Superbowl is organized in partnership with Dairyland Laboratories Inc., Hay & Forage Grower, U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center, University of Wisconsin and World Dairy Expo. To learn more, visit foragesuperbowl.org.

Read more about:

World Dairy Expo

About the Author(s)

Fran O'Leary

Wisconsin Agriculturist Editor

Even though Fran was born and raised on a farm in Illinois, she has spent most of her life in Wisconsin. She moved to the state when she was 18 years old and later graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater with a bachelor's degree in journalism.

Fran has 25 years of experience writing, editing and taking pictures. Before becoming editor of the Wisconsin Agriculturist in 2003, she worked at Johnson Hill Press in Fort Atkinson as a writer and editor of farm business publications and at the Janesville Gazette in Janesville as farm editor and feature writer. Later, she signed on as a public relations associate at Bader Rutter in Brookfield, and served as managing editor and farm editor at The Reporter, a daily newspaper in Fond du Lac.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like