Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: OH
farm sunset Scott R. Bauer
POLICY COMMITTEE: The committee collects and organizes public policy recommendations from county Farm Bureaus and presents final policy suggestions during the state annual meeting in December.

Farm Bureau committee focuses on policies for the future

Committee collects information from government leaders, subject matter experts and Farm Bureau staff.

Twenty Ohio Farm Bureau leaders are tackling the tough topics facing the agriculture industry by serving on the 2019 Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Policy Development Committee.

The committee will collect and organize public policy recommendations from county Farm Bureaus and present the final policy suggestions to be voted on by Ohio Farm Bureau’s delegates at the state annual meeting in December. 

In its initial session, the committee heard from government leaders, subject matter experts and Farm Bureau staff on topics such as climate change, mental health, water quality initiatives, farm leases, trade, risk management, foreign ownership in U.S. ag, education, school funding and rural broadband.

The policy committee consists of 10 members from OFB’s board of trustees and 10 representatives of county Farm Bureaus. The chairman is OFB First Vice President Bill Patterson, Chesterland. The committee includes OFBF President Frank Burkett, III, Massillon; and Treasurer Cy Prettyman, New Bloomington.

State trustees are Matt Bell, Zanesville; Mike Bensman, Sidney; Mike Boyert, Seville; Jenny Cox, Dresden; Paul Harrison, Fostoria; Rose Hartschuh, Sycamore; and Chris Weaver, Lyons.

County representatives and the counties they represent are Glen Arnold, Putnam; Amanda Badger, Preble County; Veronica Boysel, Franklin; Steve Brunner, Pike; Danielle Burch, Columbiana; Robert Buxton, Coshocton; Robert Hange, Wayne; Dale Hulit, Richland; Gene McCurdy, Delaware; and Steven Wickersham, Marion.

Learn more at

Source: OFB, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa business media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.