Sponsored By
Farm Progress

Top Wisconsin farmers honoredTop Wisconsin farmers honored

Seven farmers from Polk, Fond du Lac, Manitowoc and Walworth counties received awards.

Fran O'Leary

April 3, 2017

1 Min Read
2017 MASTER AGRICULTURISTS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are: (from left) Mike Cerny of Sharon; Jim Rickert of Eldorado; Rick Dado of Amery; and Dan Siemers, Paul Siemers, Sherry Siemers-Peterman and Wally Siemers, all of Newton. These farmers were honored at an awards program held March 29 in Oshkosh.Kelly Rickert

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board; Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C., of Chilton; and Badgerland Financial, recently presented the 2017 Master Agriculturist awards to seven top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Receiving the awards on March 29 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh were: Mike Cerny of Sharon; Rick Dado of Amery; Jim Rickert of Eldorado; and Wally, Sherry, Dan and Paul Siemers of Newton. The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

Jerry Apps, a rural author and professor emeritus at University of Wisconsin-Madison, spoke about Wisconsin's rich agricultural history. Wisconsin Secretary of Agriculture Ben Brancel also spoke about the importance of farming and family to about 110 guests.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture. The award dates back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Nomination forms are already available for the 2018 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919. Deadline for nominations for the 2018 awards is Dec. 8.

About the Author(s)

Fran O'Leary

Wisconsin Agriculturist Editor

Even though Fran was born and raised on a farm in Illinois, she has spent most of her life in Wisconsin. She moved to the state when she was 18 years old and later graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater with a bachelor's degree in journalism.

Fran has 25 years of experience writing, editing and taking pictures. Before becoming editor of the Wisconsin Agriculturist in 2003, she worked at Johnson Hill Press in Fort Atkinson as a writer and editor of farm business publications and at the Janesville Gazette in Janesville as farm editor and feature writer. Later, she signed on as a public relations associate at Bader Rutter in Brookfield, and served as managing editor and farm editor at The Reporter, a daily newspaper in Fond du Lac.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like