Sponsored By
Farm Progress

Dodge County wins state 4-H dairy judging contestDodge County wins state 4-H dairy judging contest

Shawano County takes second place.

July 28, 2017

3 Min Read
TOP TEAM: Members of the winning Dodge County senior dairy judging team are (from left) Dawson Nickels, Kylie Nickels, Matthew Gunst, Benjamin Buske and coach Linda Behling.

Seventy youth competed at the Wisconsin 4-H Dairy Judging Contest held July 17 in Black River Falls in conjunction with the state Ayrshire and Guernsey shows. Ayrshire and Guernsey animals were pulled out of the show strings, and Holstein, Brown Swiss and Jersey cattle were trucked in from nearby farms to make classes for the contest. 

Dodge County was the top overall and reasons team in the senior division and will go on to represent Wisconsin in the National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo. The Shawano County team took second place overall and will represent Wisconsin at the All-American Dairy Show in Harrisburg, Pa.

Emma Gwidt from Shawano County was the high individual overall, and Dawson Nickels from Dodge County was the top reasons individual in the senior division. The top four individual seniors who were not on one of the first- or second-place teams will come together to form a team to represent Wisconsin at the North American International Livestock Exposition in Louisville, Ky. These four individuals are Eva Doornick of St. Croix County, Elise Bleck of Sheboygan County, Colin Uecker of Jefferson County and Vanessa Roberts of Manitowoc County.

In the junior competition, Barron County won first team overall, and St. Croix County was the top team in the Type Analysis Questions category. Summer Hammann from Barron County was the top individual and won the Type Analysis Questions category. Sheboygan County was the second high team in the junior division.

Top 5 senior teams
1. Dodge County: Kylie Nickels, Dawson Nickels, Ben Buske, Matthew Gunst
2. Shawano County: Emma Gwidt, Madelynn Gwidt, Mason Jauquet, Colin Wussow
3. St. Croix County: Eva Doornink, Derek Utecht, Hailey Benkema, Vanessa Achterhof
4. Sheboygan County: Erica Helmer, Elise Bleck, Dallas Kreisa, Jared Abraham
5. Rock County: Nicole Broege, Anne Runde, Emma McNally, Jenna Broege

Top 15 senior individuals
1. Emma Gwidt, Shawano County
2. Kylie Nickels, Dodge County
3. Erica Helmer, Sheboygan County
4. Dawson Nickels, Dodge County
5. Ben Buske, Dodge County
6. Eva Doornick, St. Croix County
7. Elise Bleck, Sheboygan County
8. Colin Uecker, Jefferson County
9. Vanessa Roberts, Manitowoc County
10. Lauren Siemers, Manitowoc County
11. Madelynn Gwidt, Shawano County
12. Derek Utecht, St. Croix County
13. Nicole Broege, Rock County
14. Fritzy Ullom, Dunn County
15. Luke Powers, Dunn County

Top 5 junior teams
1. Barron County: Summer Hammann, Justyne Frisle, Alleah Anderson, Regina Frisle
2. Sheboygan County: Brady Bleck, Campbell Booth, Ella Bindl
3. St. Croix County: Bekah Luckwaldt, Libby Wagner, Amelia Dittman, Maren Luckwaldt
4. Pierce County: Ambrea Kjos, Natalie Mark, Braeden Bechel, Quinn Emery
5. Wood County: Sydney Kauffman, Brooklynn Schwoerer, Rainna Simone

Top 15 junior individuals
1. Summer Hammann, Barron County
2. Brady Bleck, Sheboygan County
3. Campbell Booth, Sheboygan County
4. Emma Bangart, Wood County
5. Justyne Frisle, Barron County
6. Bekah Luckwaldt, St. Croix County
7. Ambrea Kjos, Pierce County
8. Libby Wagner, St. Croix County
9. Sydney Kauffman, Wood County
10. Natalie Mark, Pierce County
11. Mercedes Kroll, Kewaunee County
12. Brooklyn Schwoerer, Wood County
13. Rainna Simone, Wood County
14. Braeden Bechel, Pierce County
15. Alleah Anderson, Barron County

Visit the WI Dairy Youth Facebook page for photos.

Source: Wisconsin 4-H

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like