is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Darneille elected CCI president

Wallace L. (Wally) Darneille, a Lubbock, Texas, cooperative official, will serve as 2010 president of Cotton Council International, the National Cotton Council’s export promotions arm.

CCI carries out programs in more than 50 countries globally under the COTTON USA trademark.

Darneille was elected at CCI’s board meeting, one of several sessions convening at the NCC’s annual meeting at the Peabody Hotel in Memphis, Feb. 4-8. He succeeds Clyde T. Sharp, an Arizona producer, who becomes CCI board chairman.

Darneille, who is president and CEO of Plains Cotton Cooperative Association, serves on the boards of the NCC, AMCOT, Telmark, the Southwest Council of Agribusiness, the Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council, Denimatrix and The Seam. He also is chairman of the National Council of Textile Organizations. Darneille graduated cum laude from Dartmouth College, and earned his MBA from Auburn University.

Other CCI officers elected for 2010 are: first vice president, John D. Mitchell, merchant, Cordova, Tenn; second vice president, James L. (Jimmy) Webb, producer, Leary, Ga.; and treasurer, John Burch, cooperative, Bakersfield, Calif. Mark D. Lange of Memphis, Tenn., was re-elected secretary and Allen A. Terhaar of Washington, D.C,, was re-elected assistant secretary.

Newly elected as CCI directors for 2010 were: Keith T. Lucas, cooperative official, Garner, N.C.; Kent D. Fountain, ginner, Surrency, Ga.; and Eduardo L. (Eddy) Esteve, merchant, Dallas, Texas.

Re-elected CCI directors include: Producers — Rickey L. Bearden, Plains, Texas; Donald J. (Don) Cameron, Helm, Calif; Dahlen K. Hancock, Ropesville, Texas; Richard Kelley, Burlison, Tenn; Cliett A. Lowman, III, Kingsville, Texas; K. Michael (Mike) Tate, Huntsville, Ala.; and W. Stewart Weaver, producer, Proctor, Ark.; Ginners — Thomas S. (Sid) Brough, Edroy, Texas; Merchants — Philip R. (Phil) Bogel, Dallas, Texas; T. Jordan Lea, Greenville, S.C.; Manfred Schiefer, Lubbock, Texas; and G. William (Bill) Winburne, Phoenix, Ariz; Cooperatives — Hank Reichle, Greenwood, Miss; and Lonnie D. Winters, Lubbock, Texas; Cottonseed Handler — Gail Kring, Lubbock, Texas; Warehouser — Vance C. Shoaf, Milan, Tenn.; and Manufacturers — Werner Bieri, Jefferson, Ga.; and Malloy Evans, Cheraw, S.C.

TAGS: Cotton
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.