Sponsored By
Michigan Farmer Logo

Michigan Corn Growers Association Announces 2010 Scholarship RecipientsMichigan Corn Growers Association Announces 2010 Scholarship Recipients

MCGA awards a total of $7,500 in scholarships this year.

April 26, 2010

2 Min Read

The Michigan Corn Growers Association is proud to announce the recipients of the 2010 MCGA scholarship award program. The MCGA scholarship committee consisted of Steve Errer, MCGA board member and corn grower from Filion; Jake Wamhoff, previous MCGA board member, chair of the MCGA scholarship committee and corn grower from East Lansing; and Eric Voisinet, previous MCGA board member and corn grower from Laingsburg.

"We received many scholarship applications and were very excited about the high caliber of the students applying," says Wamhoff. "Serving on the MCGA scholarship committee is very rewarding. We get the chance to meet the students who are the future of agriculture and this country. The only downside is deciding which ones will receive scholarships."

The MCGA awarded a total of $7,500 in scholarships this year. Congratulations to the following students who have been awarded MCGA scholarships for the 2010/2011 school year: 

High School Seniors                                                           

  • Christopher Bauer, Reese     

  • Katie Jo Gentner, Minden City

  • Mitchell Parks, Allenton

  • Michelle Sahr, Saginaw

College Students

  • Andrew Braun, Ovid

  • Kaitlyn Hard, Quincy

  • Jason Koning, Yale

  • Brenda Sisung, St. Johns

"These students will be recognized at the MCGA annual meeting, which will hopefully encourage them to become more involved with the MCGA on a local, state and national level," says Wamhoff. "The MCGA board of directors looks at this scholarship program as a way to give back to our members while promoting higher education and leadership opportunities for young adults."

Students in an accredited agricultural program are eligible for a one-year membership in the MCGA for $20. Grower and associate memberships in the MCGA are $60 for one-year, $155 for three-years, or $500 for a lifetime. By becoming a member of the MCGA you automatically become a member of the National Corn Growers Association. For more information or if you would like to purchase a membership, please contact the MCGA office at (517) 668-2676.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like