Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE

Leopold Conservation Award nominations sought

Curt Arens Cattle in grassy field
CARE FOR THE LAND: Nominations are open until March 1 for the Nebraska Leopold Conservation Award, named in honor of renowned conservationist Aldo Leopold.
The award has been given annually to Nebraska farmers and ranchers since 2006.

Do you know a Nebraska rancher, farmer or forestland owner who goes above and beyond in the stewardship of natural resources? Then nominate them for the 2022 Nebraska Leopold Conservation Award.

Sand County Foundation and national sponsor American Farmland Trust present the Leopold Conservation Award to private landowners in 23 states for extraordinary achievement in voluntary conservation.

In Nebraska, the $10,000 award is presented with the Alliance for the Future of Agriculture in Nebraska (AFAN), Cargill and the Nebraska Environmental Trust.

Leopold legacy

Given in honor of renowned conservationist Aldo Leopold, the award recognizes landowners who inspire others with their dedication to land, water and wildlife habitat management on private, working land. In his influential 1949 book, “A Sand County Almanac,” Leopold called for an ethical relationship between people and the land they own and manage.

Nominations may be submitted on behalf of a landowner, or landowners may nominate themselves. The application can be found at

The application deadline is March 1. Applications can be emailed to, or postmarked by March 1 and mailed to Leopold Conservation Award, c/o AFAN, 5225 S. 16th St., Lincoln, NE 68512.

Selected recipients must be available for an Earth Day press conference, summer video production and fall award ceremony.

The first Nebraska Leopold Conservation Award was presented to Wilson Ranch at Lakeside in 2006. The 2021 recipient was Switzer Ranch of Loup County. For a full list of award recipients over the years, visit

Source: Sand County Foundation, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.