Michigan Farmer Logo

Six nominees have been announced and voting continues through Aug. 7 for the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame.

March 23, 2015

4 Min Read

Six distinguished cattle veterinarians, including one from Michigan, have been nominated and voting is underway for the 2015 Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame, which was created in 2011 to honor exceptional individuals who have made lasting contributions to the veterinary profession. This year's outstanding nominees have played leading roles throughout their careers in preventive health medicine, surgical advancement, bovine reproduction, clinical field research, production record analysis, and milk quality.


Michigan has a dairy nominee:
Keith E. Sterner, D.V.M., has been a champion of Quality Assurance for beef and dairy, as well as a spokesperson for prudent drug use. Dr. Sterner entered private veterinary practice in Ionia, with his father, the late Dr. Edward F. Sterner. He was in this practice from 1972, as an owner and partner until his retirement in late 2011. In 1982, Dr. Sterner collaborated with Dr. Grymer in developing the Grymer/Sterner toggle suture method of LDA repair. He continues to maintain his affiliations with and interests in strengthening organized medicine through his involvement in professional organizations.

"The dedication and contributions of this year's class of nominees are truly impressive, consistent with the standard of excellence that the Hall of Fame represents each year," says Brent Meyer, D.V.M., technical services veterinarian for Merck Animal Health, who coordinates the nomination process. "In addition to practicing veterinary medicine, they've managed livestock operations, founded research facilities, served on boards of directors and mentored students."

Five organizations founded and sponsor the Hall of Fame – Merck Animal Health, the Academy of Veterinary Consultants, the American Association of Bovine Practitioners, Bovine Veterinarian and Osborn Barr.

Voting is currently underway and will remain open until August 7. Members of the AVC and the AABP may vote for one beef and one dairy nominee. AVC members may vote during the organization's spring and summer conferences or online at www.avc-beef.org/halloffame. AABP members may vote online at www.aabp.org/halloffame.

The fifth annual Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at this year's AABP Annual Conference in New Orleans, Sept. 17 - 19, 2015.   

Beef Nominees:
Dallas Horton, D.V.M., is considered a pioneer in promoting the concept of preventive health medicine and is a vocal advocate for progressive agricultural policies. Dr. Horton is the president of Horton Feedlots Inc., a cattle-feeding operation started in 1977 in northern Colorado. He is also a past president of the Academy of Veterinary Consultants (AVC) and the Colorado Livestock Association. Dr. Horton is active in numerous state and national organizations and was appointed by the U.S. secretary of agriculture to serve on the U.S. Beef Board.

Ed Johnson, D.V.M., was a pioneer in the development of intensified rotational grazing systems in the Pacific Northwest. Dr. Johnson is actively involved with veterinary student education through a University of Idaho and WSU internship program he helped develop involving veterinary colleges, agribusiness, pharmaceutical companies, and his feedyard and research facilities. The goal of the program is to stimulate interest in food animal medicine with veterinary students where they can get hands-on applied experience in management and research while receiving personal recognition for their achievement.

Gary P. Rupp, D.V.M., was actively involved in the development and support of the Cow Calf Computerized Herd Health-Management Record System and implemented a certification program for veterinary practitioners, the Beef Cattle Production Management Series, and serves as mentor for the course. He also developed the K-R Spay device, with Dr. Cleon Kimberling, for spaying heifers. Dr. Rupp served as the director of the University of Nebraska's Great Plains Veterinary Educational Center since its inception in 1988 until his retirement in 2010.\

Other Dairy Nominees:
Jenks S. Britt, D.V.M., and his partners established Bov Eq Embryo Transfer Service, and Animal Health Management, a production medicine consulting service. In 1993, after a diagnosis of Parkinson's disease, Dr. Britt began a second career as an academic veterinarian until his retirement in 2008. He has continued to work as a private consultant to many dairy farms throughout the United States and Mexico. In his last two years as a pre-veterinary instructor at Western Kentucky, 33 of their students were accepted into veterinary school.

Lawrence J. Hutchinson, D.V.M., started his own large animal practice in Honey Brook, Penn., which he operated for 13 years. In 1984, Dr. Hutchinson became a professor of Veterinary Science, conducting research in the areas of mastitis, Johne's disease, reproductive efficiency, and quality assurance programs. Dr. Hutchinson retired from the Pennsylvania State University in 2002 after 25 years, and since retirement he has been active with CNFA and volunteer agricultural assignments in Eastern Europe including Moldova, Belarus, and the Ukraine.

The Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame celebrates the rich traditions of cattle production veterinary medicine by honoring the exceptional men and women who have made lasting contributions to their profession. Inductees are true pioneers whose achievements span their entire careers.

The organization is proud to acknowledge this outstanding group by inducting two cattle production veterinarians into the Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame – one dairy and one beef veterinarian – selected by their peers and recognized by the entire industry.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like