Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
IAEA winners for 2019 include (from left) Kelvin Leibold, Kapil Arora, Russ Euken, Denise Schwab and Paul Kassel.
CONGRATS: IAEA winners include (from left) Kelvin Leibold, Kapil Arora, Russ Euken, Denise Schwab and Paul Kassel.

Iowa Ag Extension names communication winners

Honors extend to 10 categories, including articles, audio and visual recordings, and newsletters.

Gathering in Ames in early April, members of the Iowa Agricultural Extension Association held their 2019 spring meeting at Iowa State University. They attended training and information sessions to learn what’s new in their areas of expertise. They also held a membership business meeting, and winners of the IAEA annual communications awards were announced.

Wallaces Farmer magazine is a longtime sponsor of the annual communications awards presented by IAEA. The recognition goes to IAEA members who submit entries of their work in various categories. The state winners receive a cash award, and their entries are advanced to regional competition sponsored by the National Association of County Agricultural Agents.

Entries in various categories

The 2019 contest had 10 total entries from Iowa members. The state winners for 2019 in the various categories are:

Audio recording. Paul Kassel, field agronomist based at Spencer in northwest Iowa

Computer-generated graphics. Denise Schwab, beef cattle specialist in eastern Iowa, and Russ Euken, beef and swine specialist for north-central Iowa

Promotional article and feature story. Kapil Arora, ag engineer for central Iowa

Newsletter by an individual. Paul Kassel

Newsletter by a team. Rich Wrage, Extension educator for central Iowa, at Boone, with Darwin Miller, Alex Merk, Eugenia Hartsook and Amy Pieper as co-contributors

Video recording. Jennifer Bentley, dairy specialist in northeast Iowa at Decorah

Fact sheet. Kelvin Leibold, farm management specialist for north-central Iowa

Website. Paul Kassel

Bound book. Denise Schwab

Brooke Blessington, ISU Extension regional director based in Creston, chairs the IAEA communications committee. She congratulated the 2018 contest winners for their efforts to “effectively deliver objective, research-based information to the public.”

John Lawrence, vice president of ISU, addressed the members at the meeting and congratulated this year’s winners, as did Jay Harmon, interim director for Ag and Natural Resources Extension and Outreach at ISU.




Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.