Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

4 win National Wheat Yield Contest Bin Buster award

davidmartyn/ThinkstockPhotos Ripe field of wheat
Washington grower produces 206-bushel winter wheat on irrigated cropland.

The National Wheat Foundation announced four national winners for the National Wheat Yield Contest last month. The Bin Buster winners are from the following categories: Winter Wheat Dryland, Irrigated and Spring Wheat Dryland and Irrigated.

The Bin Buster winners:

1. Bruce Ruddenklau

Field Location: Amity, OR

Variety/Variety Name: OSU Rosalyn

Category: Winter Wheat – Dryland

Final Yield: 191.17 Bu/A

2. Derek Friehe

Field Location: Moses Lake, WA

Variety/Variety Name: Limagrain Jet

Category: Winter Wheat – Irrigated

Final Yield: 206.70 Bu/A

3. Trevor Stout

Field Location: Genesee, ID

Variety/Variety Name: WestBred WB 9303

Category: Spring Wheat – Dryland

Final Yield: 139.22 Bu/A

4. Terry Wilcox

Field Location: Rexburg, ID

Variety/Variety Name: WestBred WB 9668

Category: Spring Wheat – Irrigated

Final Yield: 172.60 Bu/A

A total of 418 entries were received, which was a record, up. From 397 last year.  More information on the winners is available on the National Wheat Foundation website.

The National Wheat Foundation has also announced the state winners, which includes 77 growers from 25 states.

“If you asked the general public where they think wheat is grown, they would say states like Kansas or Nebraska,” said National Wheat Foundation Board Chairman David Cleavinger. “The National Wheat Yield Contest proves differently and shows the diversity of the wheat crop and that it can be grown from the East to the West Coast and in between.”

The National Corn Growers Association released the results of its 2020 National Corn Yield Contest Dec. 14. A Michigan grower produced the highest yield.

Source: National Wheat Foundation, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.