is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Venman names new members to Cotton Board

SECRETARY OF AGRICULTURE Ann Veneman has announced the appointment of 17 members and 18 alternate members to the Cotton Board.

The Cotton Board, consisting of 30 members and their alternates, was created and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966.

“The work of the Cotton Research and Promotion Program helps facilitate cotton market development and is a good example of an industry that joins together to advance its position in the marketplace,” Veneman said at the National Cotton Council's 2002 annual meeting.

The members and alternates will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2004. The Louisiana alternate's term will end Dec. 31, 2002.

Re-appointed members are V. Larkin Martin, Courtland, Ala.; Kelley Jo Locke, Firebaugh, Calif.; John L. Noble, Vienna, Ga.; Jimmie G. Johnson, Vanduser, Mo., William C. Ahrens, Malaga, N.M.; Clint D. Abernathy, Altus, Okla.; Arthur W. James Jr., Sumter, S.C.; James E. Moody, Dyersburg, Tenn.; Kent D. Nix, Lamesa, Texas; Craig D. Shook, Corpus Christi, Texas; Frank X. Kelly, New York, N.Y.; Nancy A. Marino, Upper Brookville, N.Y.; James J. Cook, Winston-Salem, N.C.; John E. Thomas, Woodinville, Wash.; Julia K. Hughes, Silver Spring, Md.; and Mark Neuman, Champaign Ill.

Alternate members reappointed are Walter L. Corcoran Jr., Eufaula, Ala.; Aaron A. Barcellos, Los Banos, Calif.; Edward E. Dement, Sikeston, Mo.; Robert D. Robbins, Altus, Okla.; Larry W. Rice, Covington, Tenn.; Kenneth W. Dierschke, San Angelo, Texas; Matthew C. Mueller, Stamford, Texas; Andrew Boguszewski, Basking Ridge, N.J.; Michael R. Gale, Brookville, Md.; John D. Clark, Los Angeles, Calif.; and Laura F. Jones, New York, N.Y.

The newly appointed board member is Peter McGrath, Plano, Texas; and newly appointed alternate members are Bobby A. Eavenson, Dewy Rose, Ga.; George G. LaCour Jr., Morganza, La.; Larry A. Parker, Hobbs, N.M.; Dale W. Player, Bishopville, S.C.; Werner Bieri, Maysville, Ga.; Martha B. Day, Upper Montclair, N.J.; and Elizabeth M. Turner, Charlotte, N.C.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.