Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Veneman tells soybean board appointments

Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman has announced 29 appointments and three alternate appointments to the United Soybean Board. Appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning December 2004, except the Virginia alternate who will serve a 2-year term.

“The board administers soybean promotion and research programs to enhance domestic and foreign soybean markets,” said Veneman. “I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to lend their expertise and time on this board.”

Appointed members representing soybean producers by state are:

John S. Cooper, Arkansas; Marty L. Ross, Delaware; Sharon L. Covert and Philip E. Bradshaw, Illinois; Joe Meyer and Don F. Meier, Indiana; James R. Legvold, Iowa; Eric A. Niemann and Kathleen B. Patton Strunk, Kansas; Donald L. Zaunbrecher, Louisiana.

Pamela S. Callahan, Maryland; Jerry R. Hubbard and Mary Lou Smith, Michigan; Robert A. Kirchner and Jim R. Sallstrom, Minnesota; Marc S. Curtis, Mississippi; Thomas M. Green, Missouri; Charles L. Myers, Nebraska; Russell R. Carpenter, New York; J.C. Rountree, North Carolina; Kent M. Gronlie, North Dakota.

Amy J. Davis, Ohio; Ronald J. Limon, Oklahoma; Lewis G. Bainbridge, South Dakota; Kenneth M. Moore, Tennessee; Charles R. Prellwitz and Victoria H. Coughlin, Wisconsin; Richard J. Stern Jr., Eastern Region; and Ross A. Watermann, Western Region.

Alternate members by state are: James R. Sheppard Jr., New York; Jay R. Franklin, Oklahoma; and Donald T. Young, Virginia.

The Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act authorized the 64-member board. USDA selected the appointees from soybean producers nominated by the Qualified State Soybean Board. The mandatory program is funded at the rate of one half of one percent of the net market price of the soybeans purchased. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.