is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Veneman names new members to Cotton Board

The newly appointed members are producers John J. Baxter, Watson, Ark.; Harley Metcalfe, III, Greenville, Miss.; and Henry A. McLaurin, Laurinburg, N.C., and importers William E. Donelan, Ramsey, N.J., and Gail W. Strickler, Brookfield, Conn.

New alternate members include: Ernest R. Arnold, Marked Tree, Ark.; Robert A. Gammill, Jr., Tyronza, Ark.; Cynthia L. Gordan, Milton, Mass.; William C. Heaton, Clarksdale, Miss.; Edward T. Carmichael, Laurinburg, N.C.; Arthur K. Winget, III, Gastonia, N.C.; and Maureen E. Gray, New York, N.Y.

Veneman said Billie J. Collier, Knoxville, Tenn., will serve as a consumer advisor to the board.

The Cotton Board, which is headquartered in Memphis, Tenn., consists of 32 members, their alternates and one consumer advisor and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. Members of the board represent cotton producers, importers, and consumers.

"I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve and provide their expertise to this program," said Veneman.

The members, alternates, and consumer advisor named by Veneman on Dec. 5 will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2005. One importer alternate member term will end Dec. 31, 2004.

Re-appointed to the board were: Robert L. McGinnis, West Memphis, Ark.; John E. Pucheu, Jr., Tranquillity, Calif.; Rodger C. Glaspey, Fresno, Calif.; Thomas A. Parker, Lake Providence, La.; and Ronnie N. Hopper, Petersburg, Texas.

The re-appointed alternate members: Steve Cantu, Tranquillity, Calif.; George G. LaCour, Jr., Morganza, La.; David C. Cornelius, Crosbyton, Texas; and George R. Herron, Taylors, S.C.

The cotton research and promotion program advances the position of cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by a mandatory assessment on all domestically produced cotton and imports of foreign-produced cotton and cotton-containing products. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the program.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.