is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Veneman names Mid-South farmers to Cotton Board

AGRICULTURE SECRETARY Ann M. Veneman announced the appointment of several new members and alternate members of the Cotton Board, the organization that oversees the cotton check-off program.

The newly appointed members are: producers John J. Baxter of Watson, Ark., Harley Metcalfe III of Greenville, Miss., and Henry A. McLaurin of Laurinburg, N.C.; and importers William E. Donelan of Ramsey, N.J., and Gail W. Strickler of Brookfield, Conn.

New alternate members include: Ernest R. Arnold of Marked Tree, Ark., Robert A. Gammill Jr. of Tyronza, Ark., Cynthia L. Gordan of Milton, Mass., William Cliff Heaton of Clarksdale, Miss., Edward T. Carmichael of Laurinburg, N.C., Arthur K. Winget III of Gastonia, N.C., and Maureen E. Gray of New York, N.Y.

Veneman said Billie J. Collier of Knoxville, Tenn., will serve as a consumer advisor to the board.

The Cotton Board, which is headquartered in Memphis, Tenn., consists of 32 members, their alternates and one consumer advisor and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. Members of the board represent cotton producers, importers, and consumers.

“I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve and provide their expertise to this program,” said Veneman.

Re-appointed to the board were: Robert L. McGinnis of West Memphis, Ark., John E. Pucheu Jr. of Tranquillity, Calif., Rodger C. Glaspey of Fresno, Calif., Thomas A. Parker of Lake Providence, La., and Ronnie N. Hopper of Petersburg, Texas.

The re-appointed alternate members: Steve Cantu of Tranquillity, Calif., George G. LaCour Jr. of Morganza, La.; David C. Cornelius of Crosbyton, Texas; and George R. Herron of Taylors, S.C.

The cotton research and promotion program advances cotton in the marketplace.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.