is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

USDA's Schafer announces Soybean Board appointments

Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer appointed 19 members and two alternates to the United Soybean Board. All appointees will serve three-year terms beginning December 2008.

Appointed members representing Mid-South states are: James D. Wilson, Alabama; H. Todd Allen, Arkansas; James D. Sneed, Mississippi; Jason S. Bean, Missouri; and Gerald G. Caldwell, Tennessee.

Michael A. Dee, Alabama was appointed as an alternate member.

The 68-member United Soybean Board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act. The secretary of agriculture selected the appointees from soybean producers nominated by qualified state soybean boards.

The board's goal is to strengthen soybeans in the marketplace and to maintain and expand domestic and foreign markets and uses for soybean products.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.