Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

USDA designates natural disaster areas in Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana

Brad Robb FloodedCotton.BrobbDFP
Cotton and other agricultural crops were impacted by heavy rains across parts of Mississippi and Louisiana.
The United States Department of Agriculture has given some Arkansas, Mississippi counties and Louisiana parishes primary and/or contiguous disaster designations.

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has given 20 counties in Mississippi a primary disaster designation from crop damage and losses due to excessive rains and flooding between April1 to June 30, of this year. Thirty-two counties in Mississippi and three parishes in Louisiana have also received contiguous disaster designation.

“Some agricultural producers in Concordia, East Carroll, and Tensas parishes could be eligible for low interest emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met,” says Mike Strain, D.V.M., commissioner, Louisiana Agricultural and Forestry. “Farmers in these parishes have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.”

The two Arkansas counties given designation as primary natural disaster areas are Greene and Mississippi.

Those primary Mississippi counties named in the disaster designation include: Adams, Alcorn, Clay, DeSoto, George, Greene, Issaquena, Itawamba, Jackson, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Stone, Tishomingo, Tunica, and Union.

The contiguous Mississippi counties include: Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Coahoma, Forrest, Franklin, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Holmes, Humphreys, Jefferson, Lafayette, Marshall, Monroe, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Pearl River, Perry, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wilkinson, Yalobusha, and Yazoo.

“I appreciate Governor Phil Bryant’s assistance in requesting a disaster designation, and I thank Secretary Perdue and the USDA for their prompt review and approval of our request,” comments Andy Gipson, commissioner, Agriculture and Commerce, Mississippi. “I encourage our farmers in these designated counties to contact their local FSA office for more information.”

TAGS: Water
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.