Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
By the end of July 2012 about 86 percent of the primary corn and soybean belt experienced moderate to extreme drought surpassing all previous droughts except those in 1988 and the 1930sThe corn on this Iowa farm was harvested weeks ahead of schedule due to extreme heat The condition of about half of all corn fields in Iowa was listed as poor or very poor according to the Iowa Department of Agriculture

10 Iowa counties designated drought disaster

Federal disaster declaration clears way for emergency loans in those counties and contiguous counties.

Ten Iowa counties have been designed as primary natural disaster areas by Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue. Producers in Buena Vista, Hamilton, Harrison, Ida, Madison, Monona, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie and Story counties who suffered losses caused recent drought may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

  • Iowa: Adair, Boone, Calhoun, Cass, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Crawford, Dallas, Franklin, Guthrie, Hardin, Humboldt, Jasper, Kossuth, Marion, Marshall, Mills, Montgomery, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Sac, Shelby, Union, Warren, Webster, Woodbury and Wright.
  • Nebraska: Burt, Douglas, Sarpy, Thurston and Washington

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is May 10, 2021.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Source: USDA-Iowa Farm Service Agency, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 

TAGS: Disaster Crops
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.