Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

USDA seeking payment limit group applicants

But you will have to move quickly to meet the application deadline of July 12.

The farm bill requires that a total of 10 members be appointed as follows: three members by the Secretary of Agriculture; three members by the Senate Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Committee; and three members appointed by the House Agriculture Committee.

USDA’s Chief Economist will also serve on the Commission. Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman will appoint one of the 10 members to serve as chairperson.

Individuals interested in being considered for appointment to the Commission by the Secretary of Agriculture can obtain form AD-755 located at: and fax it to Dann Stuart at (202) 720-2979. The deadline for submitting applications is July 12. Applications are being solicited through press release and Internet notice.

Payment limitations refer to the maximum amount of certain program benefits a person can receive by law. The 2002 farm bill created the Commission to conduct a study on the potential impacts on farm income of further payment limitations on the receipt of direct payments, counter-cyclical payments, marketing loan gains, and loan deficiency payments.

In addition, the Commission will evaluate how further payment limitations on the receipt of the specified payments would affect land values, rural communities, agribusiness infrastructure, planting decisions of producers, supply and prices of covered commodities, loan commodities, specialty crops (including fruits and vegetables), and other agricultural commodities.

The commission was part of a compromise between Senate Democrats and House members of the farm bill conference committee to move the farm bill process forward.

But Sens. Charles Grassley, R-Iowa, and Byron Dorgan, D-N.D., sponsors of the Grassley-Dorgan payment limit amendment that was in the initial Senate bill, have said they will re-introduce their amendment in the 2003 agricultural appropriations bill.

e-mail: [email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.