is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

USDA names members to National Dairy Board

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The U.S. Department of Agriculture today named six new members and reappointed six incumbents to the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board. All will serve three-year terms from Nov. 1, 2002, through Oct. 31, 2005.

Newly appointed were: Lester E. Hardesty, Greeley, Colo., (region 3); Cynthia R. Langer, Faribault, Minn., (region 5); William J. Herr, Greenwood, Wis., (region 6); Pam Bolin, Clarksville, Iowa, (region 7); Michael M. Ferguson, Coldwater, Miss., (region 8); and Deanna S. Stamp, Marlette, Mich., (region 9).

Reappointed to serve second terms were: John Zonneveld, Jr., Laton, Calif., (region 2); Neil A. Hoff, Windthorst, Tex., (region 4); Patricia M. Boettcher, Bloomer, Wis., (region 6); Rita P. Kennedy, Valencia, Penn., (region 11); Audrey G. Donahoe, Frankfort, N. Y., (region 12); and Claude J. Bourbeau, St. Albans, Vt. (region 13).

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board, composed of 36 dairy farmers representing 13 regions of the contiguous United States, administers a coordinated program of promotion, research and nutrition education.

The board was established by the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983. It is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry's position in domestic and foreign markets. The national program is financed by a mandatory 15-cent per hundredweight assessment on milk produced in the contiguous 48 states and marketed commercially by dairy farmers. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the operation of the board.

AMS encourages all eligible individuals to participate in its committee and board activities. It is USDA's policy that membership on industry-governed boards and committees accurately reflect the diversity of individuals served by the programs.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.