Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

USDA appoints Peanut Standards Board members

322 words

USDA Appoints Peanut Standards Board members

Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman has appointed 18 peanut industry members to serve on the new Peanut Standards Board created by the Farm Security and Rural Investment Act of 2002.

The 2002 farm bill established the new board, which consists of 18 members with representation equally divided between peanut producers and peanut industry representatives, to provide consultation to USDA related to quality and handling standards for domestically produced and imported peanuts.

Three producers are from the lower Southeast, 3 producers are from the Southwest, and 3 producers are from the Virginia and North Carolina peanut producing regions, according to Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman, who announced the appointments

The board also includes 3 peanut industry representatives from each of the 3 peanut producing regions.

For the terms of office ending on June 30, 2003, 2004, and 2005, the newly appointed Peanut Standards Board members are:

Southeast Region (Alabama, Georgia and Florida) producers: Wayne E. Shannon of Tifton, Ga.(term ending 2003); Larry Ford of Greenwood, Fla. (2004); and Martin L. McLendon of Leary, Ga. (2005). Industry representatives: Jack Chastain of Rochelle, Ga. (2003); Ben Smith of Columbus, Ga. (2004); and Dennis R. Finch of Samson, Ala.(2005)

Southwest Region (Texas, Oklahoma, and New Mexico) producers: John Clay of Carnegie, Okla. (2003); Andy Timmons of Brownfield, Texas (2004); and R. Wayne Hardin of Portales, N.M. (2005). Industry representatives: Jimmie Shearer of Portales, N.M. (2003); Alan L. Ortloff of Madill, Okla. (2004); and Doyle Welch of Lubbock, Texas (2005).

Virginia-Carolina Region (North Carolina and Virginia) producers: George McGee of Severn, N.C. (2003); Paul W. Rogers Jr. Of Wakefield, Va. (2004); and James W. Mason of Harrellsville, N.C. (2005). Industry representatives: Dan Boone of Chesapeake, Va. (2003); Charles R. Birdsong of Suffolk, Va. (2004); and Linda G. Lee of Windsor, N.C. (2005).

For more information on the new board, go to:

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.