is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

USDA announces sugar loan rates

The CCC will offer nonrecourse loans to sugar beet and sugarcane processors as required by the 2002 farm bill. The national loan rates for 2002 crop raw cane sugar will be 18 cents per pound and for refined beet sugar, 22.90 cents per pound, unchanged from last year. These national loan rates are adjusted for location, reflecting freight differentials.

The FY 2003 raw cane sugar loan rates by state and in cents per pound of cane sugar, raw value, are:

  • Florida-- 17.73

  • Hawaii-- 17.33

  • Louisiana-- 18.44

  • Texas-- 18.11

  • Puerto Rico-- 18.33

The loan rate is 18 cents per pound for any raw cane sugar processed in Hawaii and Puerto Rico but it’s pledged as collateral while stored on the U.S. mainland.

Sugar beet and sugarcane processors who receive CCC loans in FY 2003 are required to make minimum payments for all sugar beets and sugarcane received from growers. Processors failing to meet the required minimum grower payment will be ineligible for loans during the subsequent crop year.

Sugar beet grower minimum payments are the amount specified in the grower/processor contract. Sugarcane producers must pay at least the following payment levels, on the average, to their growers. A grower's payment level can be adjusted according to the quality adjustment method in the grower/processor contract.

State-- Minimum Payment

  • Florida-- $25.00 per net ton

  • Hawaii-- $23.39 per net ton

  • Louisiana-- $23.98 per gross ton

  • Texas-- $21.99 per gross ton

  • Puerto Rico-- $14.94 per gross ton

The refined beet sugar processing regions and applicable 2002-crop (FY 2003) loan rates by region and in cents per pound of refined beet sugar are:

  • Michigan and Ohio-- 23.69

  • Minnesota and the eastern half of North Dakota-- 22.84

  • Northeastern quarter of Colorado, Nebraska and the southeastern quarter of Wyoming-- 23.86

  • Montana, northwestern quarter of Wyoming and the western half of North Dakota-- 22.87

  • Idaho, Oregon and Washington-- 22.19

  • California-- 23.56

For more information on this program, please contact you local USDA Service Center.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.