is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

USDA announces new cotton board members

Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner announced the appointment of 17 members and 18 alternate members to the Cotton Board.

With this announcement the Cotton Board will consist of 37 representatives of cotton producers and importers, their alternates and one consumer advisor in 2008. Members and alternates named to full terms will serve a three-year term, ending Dec. 31, 2010.

As a result of the announcement, High Plains representation on the Cotton Board grew by one with the appointment of Wellman, Texas cotton producer Jackie Burris to fill a new member position. Lamesa, Texas cotton producer Matt Farmer was appointed to fill the Board alternate position behind Burris.

Newly appointed Cotton Board members include: Burris; Dwight Menefee, Lake Arthur, N.M.; Gary Eugene Ross, Yardley, Pa.; and Yvonne Anderson, Minneapolis, Minn.

Newly appointed alternate members to the Cotton Board are: Farmer; Jack L. Joy, Artesia, N.M.; Kristin Hughes, San Francisco, Calif.; Scott D. Hyatt, New York, N.Y.; June Sassler, Parkton, Md.; Sarah F. Kay, Charlotte, N.C.; Helga Ying, Piedmont, Calif.; and Mike P. Sturdivant, Jr., Itta Bena, Miss.

Reappointed members to the Cotton Board include: Larkin Martin, Courtland, Ala.; Van Murphy, Quitman, Ga.; Jimmie G. Johnson, Vanduser, Mo.; Robert D. Robbins, Altus, Okla.; Arthur W. “Whit” James, Jr., Sumter, S.C.; Willie German, Somerville, Tenn.; Craig D. Shook, Corpus Christi, Texas; Kenneth W. Dierschke, San Angelo, Texas; A. Mark Neuman, Champaign, Ill.; Peter McGrath, Plano, Texas; Werner Bieri, Maysville, Ga.; John Clark, Los Angeles, Calif.; and Nancy A. Marino, Upper Brookville, N.Y.

Reappointed alternate members to the Cotton Board are: Walter Corcoran, Jr., Eufaula, Ala.; Richard Moss, Doerun, Ga.; Edward E. Dement, Sikeston, Mo.; Robert H. Miller, Wellington, Kan.; Dale W. Player, Bishopville, S.C.; Larry Rice, Covington, Tenn.; Debra R. Barrett, Edroy, Texas; Jeffery Posey, Roby, Texas; Linda Tipton, Bella Vista, Ark., and Arlene Eastwood, Jackson, N.J.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.