Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West
Almonds growing Almond Board of California
Almonds grow on a tree.

Almond Board's 2020 election underway

Voters to select one independent grower, two independent handlers, alternates.

Voting begins today to select one independent grower member and alternate position and two independent handler member and alternate positions on the Almond Board of California (ABC) Board of Directors.

These positions will serve terms beginning on August 1, 2020.

The candidates are:

Independent grower, one-year term: Paul Ewing, Los Banos; Louie Ott, Modesto; Mike Mason, Wasco. Alternate: Joe Gardiner, Earlimart; Brad Klump, Escalon.

Independent handler, three-year term: Terry Boone, Modesto; Alexi Rodriguez, Caruthers; Micah Zeff, Modesto. Alternate: Ron Fisher, Modesto.

Independent handler, one-year term: Jonathan Hoff, Denair; Darren Rigg, Le Grand. Alternate: Chad DeRose, McFarland; Dave Phippen, Manteca.

Ballots and instructions have been mailed to all independent growers whose names are on file with ABC. The Almond Board must receive ballots by May 27 for them to be counted.

If an independent grower or a handler does not receive a ballot, one may be obtained by contacting ABC’s Bunnie Ibrahim, senior analyst, Government Affairs, at (209) 343-3228.

As a governing body for the industry, the ABC Board of Directors is comprised of five handler and five grower representatives who set policy and recommend budgets in several major areas including production research, public relations and advertising, nutrition research, statistical reporting, quality control and food safety.

Source: Almond Board of California, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.​​
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.