Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

WSBC Names Wisconsin Master Shepherds

Art Pope Award Presented to Marv and Ruth Espenscheid.

The Wisconsin Sheep Breeders Cooperative presented its Wisconsin Master Shepherd Awards to producers from Oregon, Mt. Horeb and Arlington, Iowa, during its annual meeting and recognition banquet here on Oct. 22.

Ray and Alice Antoniewicz, Oregon, were named Wisconsin's Commercial Master Shepherds, and Roger and Carol Watkins were the recipients of the Wisconsin Wool Master Shepherd Award. Jim and Donna Lein of Arlington, Iowa, were honored as Wisconsin's Purebred Master Shepherds.

Marv and Ruth Espenscheid, Argyle cattle producers who have served as executive directors of the Wisconsin Livestock Breeders Association for 17 years, were presented with the Art PopeAward. Greg and Deb Deakin, owners of The Banner Sheep Magazine, received WSBC's Agri-Communicator Award.

Mac McDermott of Milwaukee and Jim Walker of Dalton received Wisconsin Sheep Industry Awards. McDermott has operated the Reeseville-based Pipes-McDermott Inc., a livestock broker business, since 1964. Walker is a retired sheep shearer who sheared over half a million sheep Wisconsin, Illinois, Montana and North Dakota during his 54-year career and won the Wisconsin State Fair shearing contest 14 times.

In the election of WSBC directors, Keith Schultz of Fort Atkinson was re-elected, and Steve Bingen of West Bend and Amy Jones of Rio were elected to three-year terms, replacing Carol Battenberg of Johnson Creek and Dawn Kundert of Mt. Horeb. Jill Alf was elected to serve on the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Livestock Committee, and Troy Lobdell of Darlington was selected to represent WSBC on the Wisconsin Livestock Breeders Association's board of directors.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.