Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Wisconsin Holstein Breeders meet in Hudson

Wisconsin Holstein Breeders meet in Hudson
Paula Bovre is elected board president

The Pierce and Pepin County Holstein Breeders, in coordination with the Wisconsin Holstein Association, hosted the annual Adult Holstein Convention at the Hudson House Grand Hotel in Hudson, Feb. 20-21. More than 200 Holstein breeders from across the state were in attendance for meetings and to receive recognition for outstanding accomplishments in 2014.

More than 200 Holstein breeders gathered for state convention in Hudson Feb. 20-21.

Wisconsin Holstein was fortunate to have several members of Holstein Association USA in attendance to give an update on the national association, including Regional Directors Corey Geiger and Paul Buhr, Jr., as well as CEO John Meyer, Executive Director of Genetic Services Lindsey Worden, and Executive Director of Holstein Identification and Member Services Jodi Hoynoski. Also in attendance was Dr. Michael Bishop, senior market development specialist at Illumina. Dr. Bishop reported on what is new in the world of high density and low density chips that are used for genomic testing. Following the national meeting, breeders attended committee meetings to discuss new and old business for the upcoming year.

New at this year's convention was a young breeder panel, sponsored by Wisconsin Holstein's Young Adult Committee. Three young dairy producers were featured: Danae Bauer of Sandy-Valley Farms, Scandinavia, Matt Johnson of Matcrest Holsteins/Johnson Dairy, Baldwin, and Trent Hendrickson of Trent-Way Genetics, New Glarus. The panelists provided their insight on topics from herd sires to management and setting up their operations and involvement on their home farms.

Top performers
At the dinner that evening, the 2014 Wisconsin Top Performer cows were announced. Recognized were cows owned by Tom Kestell of Waldo, Gary Housner of Elroy, and Carl Lippert of Pittsville. Receiving the overall Top Performer was Tom Kestell's cow Jeta Bambi-ET, VG-85, with a record of 51,238 pounds of milk with 3,179 pounds of fat and 1,753 pounds of protein.

Friday evening concluded with the sixth annual Wisconsin Convention Futures Sale, sponsored by Wisconsin Holstein's Young Adult Committee. The Futures sale averaged $5,000 on 29 lots that included heifers and choices from some of the area's most prominent cow families. High seller at $14,000 was Lot #1, consigned by Matt and Brad Johnson of Baldwin, and purchased by the Globe Syndicate of Roberts. This choice of two Montross females born October and November 2014 was from Schillview M-O-M Genally-ET, VG-86 Dam of Merit. This choice hails from a prominent AI family; the same as Gabor, Gerard, Garrett and Alta1stClass.Second high seller was Lot #2 from Bomaz Farms of Hammond. at $11,500. This heifer, Bomaz Jacey 6245-ET, a Jacey daughter from a VG-85 Robust, was born January 2014 and has already been flushed with success. She was purchased by Shea Dairy, Inc. of Viola. 


The Futures Sale also featured a lot to benefit the Wisconsin Holstein Juniors, and one to benefit the Horace Backus Fund through the Holstein Foundation. Hilltop Dairy LLC and Andrew Greenfield generously donated a pick of four pregnancies due in May 2015 from Mil-R-Mor Fever Krishna-ET, VG-87. The Holstein Foundation lot featured embryos by Accept-P from Derrwyn Outside Millie-ET, EX-90. These two lots generated more than $3,000 for youth funds.

Two incumbent board members were re-elected to the board of directors: Kevin Jorgensen of Waupun, and Bill Calvert of Cuba City. Two new board members were also elected, as Matt Lippert and Todd Stanek fulfilled their maximum number of terms. New board members include Pam Selz-Pralle of Humbird and Craig Carncross of Lodi.

Following the annual meeting, 40-year and 50-year members and Wall of Fame inductees were honored. This year's Wall of Fame inductees were Merle Howard, the cow Stookey Elm Park Blackrose-ET, developed by Bob and Karyn Schauf and Mark and Nicky Rueth, and the bull Townson Lindy, bred by Richard, Ruth and Steve Towns.

Following the awards luncheon, the afternoon was highlighted by farm tours to Honeycrest Farms, Huppert Brothers, Inc., and Hinz Holsteins.

Honored at the Saturday evening banquet was this year's Distinguished Young Holstein Breeder, Distinguished Service, and Distinguished Holstein Breeder award winners. This year's Distinguished Young Holstein Breeder recognized Nobland Farms, Troy and Jaime Noble of Lancaster. Honored with Distinguished Service recognition was the late Brian Krull of Lake Mills. Receiving the prestigious Distinguished Breeder honor was Bob and Kathy Traynor of Honeycrest Farms, Spring Valley.

Also honored at the Saturday evening banquet were outstanding advertisements in the Wisconsin Holstein News in 2014. Taking top ad honors for the year was Ryan-Vu Holsteins, the Chad and Amy Ryan family of Fond du Lac.

AlphaGenetics and the Young Adult Committee also sponsored 10, $100 awards for first-time convention attendees that were selected at random. These funds were awarded to help cover costs to attend the convention. Winners included Lindsey Hoffman, Katie Knegendorf, Amanda Szama, Jason Kjos, Aaron Thibauld, Kristin Klossner, Andy Wolf, Tom Knegendorf, Reuben Schloneger and Erik Warmka.  

The WHA Board of Directors met at the conclusion of the convention to elect officers for the upcoming year. Newly elected officers are President Paula Bovre of Fond du Lac, Vice President Dan Cnossen of Hatley and Secretary Kent Wendorf of Viroqua, with Chad Ryan of Fond du Lac and Todd Borgwardt of Valders also serving as Executive Committee members.

Source: Wisconsin Holstein Association

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.