Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Wisconsin Holstein to award 17 scholarships

Wisconsin Holstein to award 17 scholarships
Nearly $17,000 will be awarded to members studying agriculture or related fields.

Seventeen youth will receive Wisconsin Holstein Association scholarships in 2015. Nearly $17,000 in scholarships will be awarded to members studying agriculture or related fields at a two-year or four-year college or university. These outstanding members will receive their scholarships at the 2016 Wisconsin Junior Holstein Convention to be held in Wisconsin Dells.

Wisconsin Holstein to award 17 scholarships

Scholarship winners
Benjamin Powers of Menomonie, will receive the $1,000 Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Gordon was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville, Wis. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program. Powers is the 18-year-old son of Jim and Paula Powers. He is a senior in high school and plans to attend Farm and Industry Short Course this fall. Powers' goal is to someday own and manage a large dairy with a show string of high quality cows and heifers.

Receiving the $1,000 Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Trent Dado of Amery. This scholarship is in honor of Doris, who was a longtime Wisconsin Holstein member. Doris and her husband Arden, along with Arden's brother, Maldwyn, and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years. Trent is the 18-year-old son of Rick and Gwen Dado. He is a senior at Amery High School and plans to attend University of Minnesota-Twin Cities to study animal science with a dairy emphasis. Upon graduation he will either further his education by attending graduate school to study dairy nutrition or find a career within the dairy industry.

Charlie Hamilton of Cuba City will receive the $1,000 Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad, who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau. Hamilton is the 19-year-old  son of John and Evie Hamilton. He is a freshman at the University of Wisconsin-Madison majoring in dairy science, with plans to return to the home operation and work from his parent's foundation to grow the herd, not only in size but also in quality.  


Andy Sell of Watertown, will receive the $1,000 John Klossner Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship honors John - an active member of the Green County Junior Holstein Association and the Wisconsin Junior Holstein Junior Activities Committee. This scholarship was established by John's parents, Richard and Roxanne Klossner, and is given to a student furthering their education at a four-year University. Sell is the 20-year-old son of Rodney and Susan Sell, and is a sophomore at the UW-Madison studying dairy science. Andy hopes to have a career in the AI industry working as a sire analyst upon graduation.

Nicole Pralle of Humbird, will receive the $1,000 John Selz Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship fund was established in honor of John Selz of Humbird. - an active Wisconsin and National Holstein Association member in various capacities for numerous years. Nicole is the 17-year-old daughter of Scott Pralle and Pam Selz-Pralle and is a senior at Osseo-Fairchild High School. She will attend UW-Madison in the fall to study dairy science, with plans to pursue a career in agriculture business. 

Twelve additional well-deserving Wisconsin Holstein Junior members will receive four-year or two-year scholarships. Recipients include Amber Dammen of Argyle; Cierra Ehrke-Essock of Fort Atkinson; Cody Getschel of Osceola; Sara Griswold of Black Earth; Kati Kindschuh of Brownsville; Matthew Kramer of St. Cloud; Katherine Larson of Viroqua; Riley Miller of Orfordville; Katrina Nunes of Chippewa Falls; Sierra Solum of Rice Lake; Jessica Steger of Prairie du Chien; and Danielle Warmka of Fox Lake.

The National Distinguished Junior Member representatives will be announced at the 2016 Junior Holstein Convention banquet in January, where they will receive a scholastic achievement scholarship for 2015 as well.

All Wisconsin Holstein members planning to attend a two -or four-year college are invited to apply for a scholarship in 2016.

Source: Wisconsin Holstein

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.