Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI
Wisconsin Holstein Association to Recognize Outstanding Junior Members

Wisconsin Holstein Association to Recognize Outstanding Junior Members

Convention planned Dec. 28-30 in Eau Claire.

The Wisconsin Holstein Association is proud to recognize the accomplishments of its outstanding junior members at its annual Junior Holstein Convention being held in Eau Claire on Dec. 28-30. Junior members will be recognized for their achievements throughout 2011. Acknowledgment is given to those receiving 12 and Under, Younger Member, and Distinguished Junior Member awards among others. The 2011 Outstanding Wisconsin Holstein Boy and Girl will be named as well as the 2012 Wisconsin National Holstein DJM representatives.

Junior members being recognized for 12 & Under award recognition include Cole Booth, Plymouth; Jenna Broege, Janesville; Madison Calvert, Cuba City; McKenzie Calvert, Cuba City; Abby Field, Reedsburg; Grant Fremstad, Lone Rock; Kaianne Hodorff, Eden; Kalista Hodorff, Eden; Brian McCullough, Juda; Rachel McCullough, Juda; Lindsey Sarbacker, Floydholm; Connor Siemers, Newton; Alli Walker, Wisconsin Dells and Collin Wille, Rice Lake.

Younger Member Recognition honorees are Rachel Coyne, Spring Valley; Ethan Dado, Amery; Charles Hamilton, Cuba City; Kayli Hodorff, Eden; Paige Hoesly, Brodhead; Sierra Huser, Vesper; Carley Krull, Lake Mills; Katherine Larson, Viroqua; Austin Nauman, Sparta; Jessica Pralle, Humbird; Elizabeth Sarbacker, Verona; Jordan Siemers, Newton; Ryan Smith, Monticello; Kennedy Stumpf, Dodgeville; Brooke Trustem, Evansville; and Nicole Wright, Johnson Creek.

Distinguished Junior Member honorees are Cara Biely, Menchalville; Amelia Cooper, DeForest; Laura Elliott, Marshall; Laura Finley, Lake Mills; Rachael Hartlaub, Cleveland; Brett Hildebrandt, Hustisford; Jake Hoesly, Brodhead; Nathan Huser, Vesper; Karsen Haag, Mount Horeb; Mitchell Kappelman, Manitowoc; John Klossner, New Glarus; Bryce Krull, Lake Mills; Cassandra Krull, Lake Mills; Thomas Larson, Viroqua; Bret Long, New London; Morgan Lundy, Jeffereson; Stephanie Nagel, Valders; Kyle Natzke, Fond du Lac; Andrea Pagenkopf, Lancaster; Katie Wendorf, Viroqua and Kayla Wright, Watertown.

Austen Schmidt of Cascade will receive the Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Gordon was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville, Wis. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program. Austen is the 19-year-old son of James and Dina Schmidt and is attending UW-Madison Farm and Industry Short Course and plans to return to the home farm.

Also receiving a two-year scholarship will be Lexa Miller of Vesper and John Kosmalski, Rosholt.

Receiving the Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Cassandra Krull of Lake Mills. Cassy is the 18-year-old daughter of Cindy Krull and the late Brian Krull and is attending Allen County Community College in Iola, Kansas. Doris and her husband Arden, along with Arden's brother Maldwyn and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years.

Laura Elliott of Marshall will receive the Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau, Wis. Laura is the 21-year-old daughter of Ken and Kathy Elliott and is attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison majoring in Dairy Science and Life Science Communications.

In addition seven more well-deserving Wisconsin Holstein Juniors will receive four-year scholarships. They include: Breinne Hendrickson, Belleville; Josh Joseph, Viola; Erin Kappelman, Two Rivers; Stephanie Nagel, Valders; Ryan O'Leary, Brandon; Kathryn Wendorf, Viroqua and Abbey Wethal, Brooklyn.

The 2012 Wisconsin Holstein Princess and Attendant will also be named during Junior Convention.

The event, which is using the theme 'Rockin' in the Northwoods,' will commence with numerous activities for the nearly 500 junior members in attendance, including a dairy bowl contest, dairy jeopardy, as well as a contest room with arts and crafts, advertising, county scrapbook, and photography contests. Attendees have the opportunity to participate in prepared speaking contests and a dairy promotion contests as well.

This year's conference is being hosted by the Clark County Junior Holstein club.

Source: Wisconsin Holstein Association
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.