Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Wisconsin Holstein Association Awards Scholarships to Members

Wisconsin Holstein Association Awards Scholarships to Members
18 youth will receive $16,000 in scholarships.

The Wisconsin Holstein Association is proud to announce the 18 youth receiving scholarships in 2014. A total of $16,000 in scholarships were awarded to members studying in agriculture or related fields at a two-year or four-year University. These outstanding members will receive their scholarships at the 2015 Wisconsin Junior Holstein Convention, to be held in Fond du Lac.

Scholarships will be awarded at the 2015 Wisconsin Junior Holstein Convention in Fond du Lac.

Karsen Haag of Mount Horeb will receive the $1,000 Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Gordon was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville. This scholarship is given to a student enrolled in a technical college, two-year, or short course agriculture program. Haag is the 20-year-old daughter of Virgil and Dawn Haag. She is in her first year of study at Southwest Technical College in Fennimore, studying dairy herd management and agribusiness, with plans to eventually own her own registered Holstein operation.

Receiving the $1,000 Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship is Crystal Siemers-Peterman of Cleveland. This scholarship is in honor of Doris who was a longtime Wisconsin Holstein member. Doris and her husband Arden, along with Arden's brother, Maldwyn, and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years. Crystal is the 19-year-old daughter of Jack Peterman and Sherry Siemers-Peterman. She is a freshman at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities majoring in agriculture and food business management with plans to return home and market dairy products from her family's farm.

Cassi Miller of Mount Horeb. will receive the $1,000 Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau. Miller is the 20-year-old daughter of Alexis Cox and Robert and Susan Miller. She is a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville majoring in agribusiness with an emphasis in communications and marketing, with plans to work in the dairy industry in a career that educates youth and promotes the importance of the dairy industry.

Jordan Siemers of Newton will receive the $1,000 John Klossner Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship honors John - an active member of the Green County Junior Holstein Association and the Wisconsin Junior Holstein Junior Activities Committee. This scholarship was established by John's parents Richard and Roxanne Klossner and is given to a student furthering their education at a four-year University. Siemers is the 18-year-old son of Dan and Janina Siemers, and is a senior at Howards Grove High School with plans to attend Cornell University in the fall. Jordan will study dairy science, agribusiness and dairy cattle genetics, with plans to return as the sixth generation on his family's farming operation.

Elizabeth Sarbacker of Verona will receive the $1,000 John Selz Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship fund was established in honor of John Selz of Humbird - an active Wisconsin and National Holstein Association member in various capacities for numerous years. Elizabeth is the 18-year-old daughter of Tom and Vicki Sarbacker and is a senior at Verona Area High School. She will attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the fall to study dairy science, with plans to stay involved in the dairy industry and agriculture.

Thirteen additional well-deserving Wisconsin Holstein Junior members will receive four-year or two-year scholarships. Recipients include Nicole Wright of Watertown, Carrie Warmka of Fox Lake, Kristen Broege of Janesville, Abigail Martin of Janesville., Logan Voigts of Platteville, Laura Finley of Madison, Lizi Endres of Waunakee, Cassie Endres of Waunakee, Valerie Kramer of St. Cloud,  Kati Kindschu of Brownsville, Sara Griswold of Black Earth, Katherine Larson of Viroqua,  and Ethan Dado of Amery.

The National Distinguished Junior Member representatives will be announced at the 2015 Junior Holstein Convention banquet in January, where they will receive a scholastic achievement scholarship for 2014 as well.

For several years, the Ames family has awarded a $500 scholarship in memory of their parents, John and Isabelle Ames of Ames-Way Holsteins, Darien. This year's recipient is Andrew Steinberger of Menomonie attending UW-Madison. Due to the number of qualified applications this year, the family awarded an additional $250 scholarship to Heidi Hammil of Milton attending the UW-LaCrosse and Kate Griswold of Black Earth, attending UW-Madison.

Source: Wisconsin Holstein Association
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.