is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Winners Of Renewable Fuels Video Contest

Winners Of Renewable Fuels Video Contest

Iowa high school students from several schools (Treynor, Marion, Story City and Jewel) won $4,000 in prizes in the "Fuel the Future" video contest sponsored by Iowa Renewable Fuels Association.

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association last week announced the winners of its $4,000 "Fuel the Future" video contest for Iowa high school students.  Students were challenged to create the best video highlighting the importance and benefits of renewable fuels, such as ethanol and biodiesel, to local communities, Iowa and the nation. 

The four winning videos were featured at the 5th Annual Iowa Renewable Fuels Summit held in Des Moines on Jan. 25, 2011. The winners were selected by a panel of five judges who combined extensive film, television, marketing, and renewable fuels expertise.

Treynor High School students Spencer Hawk, Alex Severn, Garrett Gibson and Conrad Sain won the $2,000 grand prize for their video entitled "Fuel of the Future."

Linn-Mar High School student Sam Fathallah from Marion won the $1,000 second place prize for his video called "What is Biodiesel?"

Roland-Story High School students Andrew Smith and Kendall Gustafson, both from Story City, won the $600 third place prize for their video entitled "Bio Fuel."

South Hamilton High School student Marcus Hemphill of Jewell earned the $400 fourth place prize for his video called "The Biofuel Network." 

The winning videos and all qualifying entries can be viewed on IRFA's YouTube channel at

"The judges were blown away by the creativity and effort the students put into their renewable fuels videos," says IRFA biofuels manager Grant Menke. "IRFA congratulates not just the winning students, but all those who participated. This was a great opportunity for students to learn about the benefits of renewable fuels and to share that knowledge with their peers and all Iowans."

IRFA also thanks the Iowa Office of Energy Independence for helping to make this contest possible through funding from its Iowa Power Fund Community Grant program. In addition, IRFA thanks Faegre & Benson LLP for its sponsorship of the contest. The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association was formed in 2002 to represent the state's ethanol and biodiesel producers. The trade group fosters the development and growth of the renewable fuels industry in Iowa through education, promotion, legislation and infrastructure development.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.