Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

WFU Holds Leadership Elections

WFU Holds Leadership Elections
Darin Von Ruden re-elected president.

Darin Von Ruden of Westby has been reelected president of Wisconsin Farmers Union.

The Wisconsin Farmers Union Board re-elected Von Ruden to a second one-year term. The organization's board elects officers following directors' elections, held during WFU's annual convention. The convention was Feb. 5-6 in Madison; the board elected its officers Friday in Tomah.

Von Ruden, who operates an organic dairy farm, represents WFU's District 5. He was first elected president in February 2010.

The WFU Board also re-elected its other officers: Craig Myhre of Osseo, District 4, vice president; Dennis Rosen of Emerald, District 2, secretary; and Wayne Danielson of Cadott, District 3, treasurer.

Re-elected to the board at annual convention were Myhre, Mark Liebaert of South Range, At-Large; and Janet Nelson of Prairie Farm, District 1. Those directors were reelected to three-year terms.

W. Michael Slattery of Maribel was elected to serve out the final two years of WFU District 8 Director Wally Lueder's term.  Lueder, of Iron Ridge, stepped down from the board this year.

Other directors are Patty Edelburg of Scandinavia, District 6, and Richard Keller of Mount Horeb, District 7.

During its meeting, the WFU Board also voted to hold the 2012 convention during the last weekend in January in Wausau.

For more information on board members, go to

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.