Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

UW-Madison Team Wins Dairy Judging Contest

UW-Madison Team Wins Dairy Judging Contest
Laura Finley of Watertown was overall high individual

University of Wisconsin-Madison garnered top honors with the overall team title along with grabbing first place in team reasons at World Dairy Expo Intercollegiate Dairy Cattle Judging Contest.

Laura Finley of Watertown led the team as the overall high individual and sixth in reasons. Teammate Cassie Endres placed first in oral reasons and ninth overall. Rounding out the team were Mackenzie Cash, who was 12th high individual and Mariah Fjarlie who was 25th overall.

TOP TEAM: Members of the University of Wisconsin-Madison dairy judging team, who placed first in the World Dairy Expo Intercollegiate Dairy Cattle Judging Contest are, from left, Coach Brian Kelroy, Laura Finley, Cassie Endries, Mackenzie Nickels Cash, Mariah Fjarlie, and Coach Chad Wethal.

UW-Wisconsin tied the team from Cornell University with 2,492 points, but the tie breaker went to UW-Madison because of higher oral reasons scores. Cornell University captured second place overall team and fourth place in team reasons. Rounding out the top five teams were: University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, third; Penn State University, fourth; and University of Illinois at Champagne-Urbana, fifth. Twenty-one teams competed in this year's contest. Teams and individuals receiving recognition are:

 Overall Top 10 Teams
1. University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2,492, coached by Chad Wethal and Brian Kelory
2. Cornell University, 2,492, coached by Kevin Ziemba
3. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 2488, coached by Les Hansen
4. Penn State University, 2,480, coached by Dale Olver
5. University of Illinois Champagne-Urbana, 2431, coached by Gene McCoy
6. University of Wisconsin-River Falls, 2,427, coached by Steve Kelm
7. Virginia Tech, 2,422, coached by Katharine Knowlton and Mike Barnes
8. University of Georgia, 2,401, coached by William Graves
9. Oklahoma State University, 2,390, coached by David Jones
10. The Ohio State University, 2,381, coached by Bonnie Ayars and Julie DeLave  

Overall Top 10 Individuals
1. Laura Finley, 843, UW-Madison
2. Jenna Hardy, 842, Virginia Tech
3. Edward Facer, 840, Cornell University
4. Jacob Dueppengiesser, 833, Cornell University
5. Caitlyn Pool, 833, Penn State University
6. Emily Shaw, 833, Penn State University
7. Mary Liebenstein, 832, University of Minnesota
8. Andrew Hetke, 831, University of Minnesota
9. Cassie Endres, 826, UW-Madison
10. Michael Schmitt, 825, University of Minnesota

Top 10 Teams Reasons
1. University of Wisconsin-Madison, 827, coached by Chad Wethal and Brian Kelroy
2. Penn State University, 822, coached by Dale Olver
3. Cornell University, 819, coached by Kevin Ziemba
4. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 815, coached by Les Hansen
5. California Polytechnic State University, 793, coached by Rich Silacci
6. University of Wisconsin-River Falls, 792, coached by Steve Kelm
7. Ohio State University, 791, coached by Bonnie Ayars and Julie DeLave
8. Virginia Tech, 790, coached by Katherine Knowlton and Mike Barnes
9. University of Illinois Champagne-Urbana, 787, coached by Gene McCoy
10. Purdue University, 771, coached by Steven Hendress                                                                           

Top 10 Individual Reasons
1. Cassie Endres, 282, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2. Jacob Dueppengiesser, 280, Cornell University
3. Andrew Hetke, 280, University of Minnesota
4. Jenna Hardy, 278, Virginia Tech
5. Rachel Townsley, 278, Ohio State University
6. Laura Finley, 277, University of Wisconsin-Madison
7. Amber Gabel, 276, Penn State University
8. Caitlyn Pool, 273, Penn State University
9. Emily Shaw, 273, Penn State University
10. Michael Schmitt, 273, University of Minnesota

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.