is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MO
USDA Assessing Damage in Wake of Flood

USDA Assessing Damage in Wake of Flood

Counties in southern Missouri asked to submit flood damage reports by May 20.

USDA officials have begun the process of assessing damage throughout areas of Missouri affected by severe storms and flooding in recent weeks. Counties throughout the state have until May 20 to report damages and losses. 

"Under Governor Nixon's leadership, the State of Missouri has connected with our partners on the local, regional and federal levels to assist those affected by severe flooding in southern Missouri," said Director of Agriculture Jon Hagler. "It is vital that we work to rebuild the lives and livelihoods of those affected, and beginning the damage assessment process is key to moving forward."

The Governor's request for damage assessments is the first step in the process of declaring counties primary disaster areas. Primary disaster counties are those that lose at least 30% of the estimated yield of a single crop, or where individual farmers suffer production losses greater than 30%.

A disaster designation would allow eligible farmers to be considered for assistance from the USDA's Farm Service Agency. Farmers who qualify would receive FSA emergency loans or assistance from the federal Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program. Affected farmers would apply to FSA, which considers each application individually on its merits. Farmers in counties contiguous to primary disaster areas also could be eligible for assistance.

The damage assessment process is key to determining the availability of assistance through specific federal and state programs. 

Governor Nixon requested damage assessments in 56 Missouri counties. Those counties are Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Washington, Wayne, Webster and Wright.


For the latest information on flooding and the wide range of assistance the state is providing, visit 

Source: Missouri Department of Agriculture

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.