is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
USDA Ag Outlook Student Diversity Essay Winners Announced

USDA Ag Outlook Student Diversity Essay Winners Announced

University students earn trip to Arlington, Va., to attend ag forum.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack Monday announced the selection of 30 agricultural university students to attend USDA's 2013 Agricultural Outlook Forum. The students have received assistance from USDA and corporate sponsors in order to attend the Forum, and will attend the event Feb. 21- 22, 2013, in Arlington, Va.

"In the years ahead, a new generation of food and agricultural professionals will play a key role in solving the major challenges before us," said Vilsack. "The Outlook Forum will give these students the chance to hear from leading government and industry voices on a broad range of topics, opening and expanding their opportunities to excel in agriculture-related fields."

University students earn trip to Arlington, Va., to attend ag forum.

Twenty university juniors and seniors were selected based on their responses to the essay, "Agriculture as a Career."

The students are: Miguel Aceves, University of Arizona, Yuma; Crystal Adams, University of Maryland Eastern Shore; Samantha Anderson; Murray State University; Robin Avison, Middle Tennessee State University; Travis Chase, University of Idaho; Devinn Esberry, University of Maryland Eastern Shore; Christina Flores, California State University, Fresno; Tyler Harran, University of Wyoming; Candice Harvey, Fort Valley State University; Rose Jean-Mary, Miami Dade College; Keith Lewis, Prairie View A&M University; Nathan Lim, University of Maryland, College Park; Tiana Mason, Virginia State University; Tiara McCray, North Carolina A&T State University; Rebecca Naasz, South Dakota State University; Napoleon O'Quinn, Alcorn State University; Francisco Rodriguez, California State University, Stanislaus; Gabrielle Rovegno, University of Maryland College Park; Sergio Toro, San Diego State University; and Ricardo Zapater Ramos, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez.

In addition, 10 graduate students were selected based on their responses to the essay, "The Greatest Challenge Facing Agriculture over the Next Five Years."

The students are: Andrea Basche, Iowa State University; Jeremy Bennett, Oklahoma State University; Michael Cagle, Mississippi State University; Allen Denkins, Tennessee State University; Augustina Odame, Utah State University; Aaron Pomerantz, University of Florida; Kevin Redwine, Texas Tech University; Zachary Schultzhaus, Texas A&M University; Megan Waldrop, Washington State University; and Venus Welch-White, Tuskegee University.

This year, sponsoring corporations and USDA agencies include: CHS, Inc. and Farm Credit; USDA's Agricultural Research Service, Economic Research Service, and Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Several of the winning essays are found here:

Program details and registration information are available at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.