Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Top Wisconsin farmers honored in Oshkosh

Top Wisconsin farmers honored in Oshkosh
2016 Master Agriculturists receive awards

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C., of Chilton, and Badgerland Financial, presented the 2016 Master Agriculturist awards to four top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Receiving the awards were: Dick Cates of Spring Green, Mark Dietsche of Bloomer, Ken Feltz of Stevens Point and Hank Wagner of Oconto Falls on March 30 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh. The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

2016 MASTER AGRICULTURISTS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are, from left, Hank Wagner of Oconto Falls, Dick Cates of Spring Green, Ken Feltz of Stevens Point and Mark Dietsche of Bloomer. These farmers and their families were honored at an awards program held March 30 in Oshkosh. Photo by Harlen Persinger.

Former Green Bay Packer George Koonce was the keynote speaker. Dr. Koonce, who earned his Ph.D from Marquette University in sociology, spoke about his life's journey and overcoming adversity.

Wisconsin Agriculture Secretary Ben Brancel also spoke to 120 guests.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture. The award dates back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Nomination forms are already available for the 2017 awards. To obtain a form, go online to, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919. Deadline for nominations for the 2015 awards is Dec. 5.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.