Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Top Wisconsin Agriculturists honored in Oshkosh

Top Wisconsin Agriculturists honored in Oshkosh
Jim Fitzgerald, Tom Kestell, Jeff Sommers and Dan Vosberg are 2015 Wisconsin Agriculturist's Master Agriculturists

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C,. of Chilton, and Badgerland Financial, presented the 2015 Master Agriculturist awards to four top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Receiving the awards were: Jim Fitzgerald of Newton, Tom Kestell of Waldo, Jeff Sommers of Plainfield and Dan Vosberg of South Wayne. on March 25 at La Sure's Hall in Oshkosh. The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

2015 MASTER AGRICULTURISTS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are, from left, Dan Vosberg of South Wayne, Jim Fitzgerald of Newton, Jeff Sommers of Plainfield, and Tom Kestell of Waldo. These farmers and their families were honored at an awards program held March 25 in Oshkosh. Photo by Harlen Persinger.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture. The award dates back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Forms are already available for the 2016 awards. To obtain a form, go online to, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919. Deadline for nominations for the 2015 awards is Dec. 5.

See biographies of all the 2015 Wisconsin Master Agriculturists:
Kestells develop top herd of registered Holsteins
Teamwork is key to Fitzgeralds' success
Hard work pays off for Vosbergs
Sommers capitalizes on opportunities

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.