Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS
Top Steer Brings $12,842 at Kansas Junior Livestock Show

Top Steer Brings $12,842 at Kansas Junior Livestock Show

Auction of Champions brings cash premiums to top exhibitors of cattle, sheep, swine and goats at annual show.

Logan Drake of Winfield took top honors at the Kansas Junior Livestock Show, leading his 1,288 lb. Charolais steer to grand champion honors. Logan took home a paycheck of $12,842, thanks to top bidder Becky Elder of Valley Center, a new bidder this year at the Auction of Champions.

The show, held Sept. 23-26 in Wichita, featured 656 young people from 89 counties showing 1,234 head of livestock.

The reserve grand champion steer, a 1,311 lb. crossbred was shown by Morgan Mobley of Overland Park and brought $8,142 at the auction. The buyer was Cargill Meat Solutions.

In the swine show, the grand champion barrow was a 278 lb. dark crossbred owned by Ethan Frantz from Hillsboro. His winning entry brought $4,154 at auction from Qualitech, Kansas Feeds, Xtra Factor, Westway, MicroBeef and The Hartford Company. Karlie Stephens of Moran exhibited the reserve grand champion, a 282 lb. light crossbred that was worth $2,257 to Farm Bureau Insurance.

In sheep, a 153 lb. crossbred shown by Curtis Hewlett from Independence, was named grand champion of the 229-head market lamb show. Hewlett's entry was purchased by Ted Crist, Schooler Grain, Nutrition Research Services, Southwestern Remodeling of Wichita and Kemin AgriFoods for $3,927.

In the final sale category, meat goats, Beth Mercer from Galena received grand champion honors. The champion goat, besting 184 others to claim the top prize, weighed 88 lbs. and was worth $1,806 to S.O.W. Corporation of Wichita. Raylee Faris from Westmoreland led the reserve, which weighed 92 lbs. S.O.W. Corporation placed a final bid of $2,910 on Faris' goat.


In the senior division of the cattle showmanship, Kurtis Clawson of Satanta claimed the title of champion. Maci Schlehuber from Hillsboro took reserve. Rounding out the top five, in order of finish, were: Lauren Prill, Wichita; Cory Craver, Gypsum; and Justin Loomis, Council Grove. Jake Nikkel, McPherson, won junior cattle showmanship and Grady Dickerson of Paradise earned reserve champion honors. Following Dickerson, in order of finish, were: Tanner Walden, Tonganoxie; Hadley Schotte, Marysville; and Taylor Nikkel, Maple Hill.

In the senior swine showmanship, Tristan Davis from Princeton claimed the champion title, with Katelyn Barthol from Wellsville coming in reserve. Rounding out the top five, in order of finish, were Callahan Grund, Wallace; Lauren Geis, Durham; and Samantha Leeds, Council Grove. Caitlin Dreher, Iola, won the junior swine showmanship contest, with Jenna Goetzmann of Gardner earning reserve champion honors. Following Goetzmann, in order of finish, were Brody Nemecek, Iola; Chisum Grund, Wallace; and Gabryelle Gilliam, Washington.

In the senior sheep showmanship division, Kylie Naber of Osborne was named champion. Taking reserve was Emily Harris of Abilene. Rounding out the division, in order of finish, were Lindsey Pease, Chetopa; Mindi Holloway, Yates Center; and Macey Dinkel, Abilene. Gabryelle Gilliam of Washington won the junior sheep showmanship division. Anna Long of Olathe claimed reserve. Following the top two winners, in order of finish, were Lindsay Francis, Yates Center; Dakotah McBride, Hooker, OK; and Emma Stewart, Baldwin.

For the second consecutive year, Lindsey Pease from Chetopa won senior meat goat showmanship. Blake Foraker of Burrton was the reserve goat showman. Following Foraker, in order of finish, were Shynia Peterman, Lyons; Amelia Vasko, Scott City; and Julia Wade, Olathe. The junior goat showmanship champion was Allyson Rudd from Bucklin and reserve went to Mattie Shafer from Rozel. Rounding out the top five, in order of finish, were Grant Simpson, Columbus; Rebekah Thomas, Chapman; and Erin Falkenstien, Oswego.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.