Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
Timetable Set For 2011 Iowa Legislative Session

Timetable Set For 2011 Iowa Legislative Session

Monday, January 10 will be the first day of the 84th Iowa General Assembly. The 2011 state legislative session is scheduled to last 110 days under the golden dome of the State Capitol in Des Moines.

The 2011 Iowa Legislature will gavel into session on Monday, January 10 at the State Capitol in Des Moines. That will be the start of the 84th Iowa General Assembly, as the 2011 state legislature is scheduled to be in session for 110 days, making Friday, April 29 the last day for legislators to receive compensation for their service.

March 11 will be the first "funnel day," which is the final date for Senate and House bills to be reported out of their respective committees. April 8 is the second "funnel" day or the final day for Senate bills to be reported out of House committees and for House bills to be reported out of Senate committees.

"It is very important for farmers to contact their legislators in their hometown before the 2011 legislative session starts," says Mindy Larsen Poldberg, director of government relations for the Iowa Corn Growers Association. "Having a personal relationship with your elected officials will help your farm organization achieve its policy goals during the session."

Iowa Senate Republicans announce committee assignments

Senate Republican Leader Paul McKinley, R-Chariton, recently announced the committee assignments for the 84th Iowa General Assembly that convenes on January 10, 2011 in Des Moines. "Iowa Senate Republicans are looking forward to this upcoming legislative session and know Iowans are ready to embrace our aggressive agenda of more private sector jobs, less spending and lower taxes. We look forward to working with Gov. Branstad, Lieutenant Gov. Reynolds, the House Republican Majority and any willing Democrats who believe it is time to reduce the size of government, put more Iowans back to work and give our citizens a greater voice in government."

The following individuals will serve as ranking members on senate standing committees:

Human Resources – Jim Seymour, R-Woodbine

Transportation – Larry Noble, R-Ankeny

Education – Shawn Hamerlinck, R-Dixon

Labor & Business Relations – Pat Ward, R-West Des Moines

Local Government – Merlin Bartz, R-Grafton

State Government – Randy Feenstra, R-Hull

Economic Growth – Sandy Greiner, R-Keota

Natural Resources & Environment – Jim Hahn, R-Muscatine

Agriculture – David Johnson, R-Ocheyedan

Ethics – Paul McKinley, R-Chariton

Appropriations – Steve Kettering, R-Lake View

Commerce – Jerry Behn, R-Boone

Judiciary – Nancy Boettger, R-Harlan

Rules & Administration – Paul McKinley, R-Chariton

Veterans Affairs – Jim Seymour, R-Woodbine

Ways & Means – Brad Zaun, R-Urbandale

Government Oversight – Kent Sorenson, R-Indianola

The following individuals will serve as Ranking Members on Budget Appropriations Sub-Committees:

Administration & Regulation – Merlin Bartz, R-Grafton

Agriculture & Natural Resources – Hubert Houser, R-Carson

Economic Development – Nancy Boettger, R-Harlan

Education – Bill Dix, R-Shell Rock

Health & Human Services – David Johnson, R-Ocheyedan

Justice System – Larry Noble, R-Ankeny

Transportation, Infrastructure, Capitals – Tim Kapucian, R-Keystone

A complete listing of committee assignments can be found on the Iowa Senate Republicans' website at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.