Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Three More Wisconsin Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Individual assistance now available in 15 counties as FEMA continues assessments.

Gov. Jim Doyle announced Thursday afternoon that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared a state of disaster for Fond du Lac, Iowa and Marquette counties, bringing to 15 the number of Wisconsin counties where individual assistance is available.

Earlier this week, FEMA made federal assistance available to those living in Columbia, Crawford, Dodge, Green, Milwaukee, Racine, Richland, Sauk, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha, and Winnebago counties and is conducting damage assessments to allow declarations in other counties.

"FEMA is working hard to expand individual assistance to people across southern Wisconsin who have been hit hard by floods and severe weather," Governor Doyle said. "I thank them and all those who are working together to recover and rebuild. We are committed to getting people the help they need."

Doyle declared a state of emergency in 30 counties after severe weather this month brought record floods and other damage across southern Wisconsin. FEMA is in ongoing damage assessments in those counties to make disaster declarations.

FEMA's disaster declarations make federal money available for individual assistance, such as home repair and temporary housing costs. Those living in counties declared a state of disaster can apply for individual assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or online at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.