Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MI
Three Appointed To Michigan Beef Industry Commission

Three Appointed To Michigan Beef Industry Commission

Acker, Schapman and Wiley to serve three-year terms.

Gov. Rick Snyder recently announced appointments to the Michigan Beef Industry Commission, which promotes the sale of beef and beef products.

Scott Acker and Bret Schapman are appointed and Gary Wiley is reappointed.

"The appointees will continue to strengthen our state's agriculture industry," Snyder says.

Acker, of Middleton, is a senior regional manager overseeing all Michigan livestock marketing operations at United Producers Inc., the largest livestock marketing organization in Michigan handling more than three million head of livestock per year. He also co-chairs the Michigan Livestock Exposition. Acker earned a bachelor's degree from Michigan State University. He represents cattle marketers and replaces Randy Heselschwerdt.

Schapman, of Almont, has farmed for 17 years and has 2,000 acres of corn, soybeans, hay and wheat. He also raises 4,500 feed cattle per year. He is a member of the Macomb County Farm Bureau and was named the 2010 "Young Cattleman of the Year." Schapman earned a bachelor's degree in animal science from Michigan State University. He represents cattle feeders and replaces Scott Elden Cary.

Wiley, of Gladwin, is the owner and operator of the 786-acre G & Triple J Farms. He has farmed for 30 years, including raising beef cattle. He has held many positions in the beef industry including serving as president of the Michigan Cattlemen's Association Board of Directors and as a member of the National Cattlemen's Beef Association Federation Board of Directors. Wiley represents cattle breeders.

Appointees will serve three-year terms expiring May 31, 2014, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.