is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS
Third Round of 25 Notable Kansans Coming

Third Round of 25 Notable Kansans Coming

Notable Kansans promotion part of the celebration of 150 years of Kansas statehood.

As part of the state's commemoration of the Kansas sesquicentennial during 2011, Gov. Sam Brownback will announce the next five of 25 names of Notable Kansans 10 a.m. Wednesday, August 31, at Fort Scott National Historic Site, Fort Scott.

The Notable Kansans were selected by the governor's blue ribbon panel for history. Five names are announced at each event. The final two events will be held at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday, September 7, at Kansas Aviation Museum, Wichita; and 9:30 a.m. Thursday, September 15, at the Kansas State Fair, Hutchinson.

 The public is invited to attend all Notable Kansans events, each featuring comments by Brownback, introduction of special guests, and a brief reception. Events commemorating the top 12 events in Kansas history will be held later in the fall.

The first ten names were revealed at events in Topeka and Fairway: Former Senator Nancy Landon Kassebaum Baker, famed abolitionist John Brown, statesman and publisher Arthur Capper, politician Charles Curtis, the first American Indian vice-president; railroad hotelier Fred Harvey, inventor Cyrus K. Holliday, psychology pioneer Karl Menninger, Kiowa chief Satanta, basketball entrepreneur James Naismith, and author Charles Sheldon.

Arthur Capper was born in Garnett and was the first native-born Kansan elected governor. He served five terms as a U.S. senator and owned and published Capper's Weekly and the Topeka Daily Capital, as well as being an early publisher of Kansas Farmer.

A "blue ribbon panel for history" was responsible for choosing the 25 Kansas to be honored in the "Notable Kansans" series. The panel is comprised of: Don Chubb, Topeka; Virgil Dean, Kansas Historical Society; Gayle Garrelts, Hays;  James Hoy, Emporia State University; Bob Keckeisen, Kansas Historical Society; Nathan McAlister, Royal Valley High School; Leo Oliva, Woodston; Mary Regan, Finney County Historical Society; J. Schafer, Kansas Public Radio; James Shortridge, University of Kansas; and Raymond Wilson, Fort Hays State University.

The naming of Notable Kansans is just one among a series of special events designed to help celebrate Kansas 150 years of statehood.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.