Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

State FFA speaking contest winners named

State FFA speaking contest winners named
Top speakers will represent Wisconsin at National FFA Convention in October

Public speaking contests are among the most popular activities in FFA as members test their abilities to speak in front of audiences. Hundreds of FFA members from across the state participate in speaking contests at the district, section and state levels.

The top extemporaneous speaking, prepared speaking, creed, discussion meet and parliamentary procedure contest winners in each section are invited to compete at the state level during the state FFA convention held June 13-16 in Madison.

Following is information about each contest and a list of the top finishers. The winners will represent Wisconsin at the National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Ind., in October.

State FFA speaking contest winners named

The extemporaneous speaking contest provides an opportunity for members to develop the skills to speak about a given subject without having much time to prepare or rehearse. Students draw a topic and are given only 30 minutes to prepare a four- to six-minute speech. They must also answer five minutes of questions from judges about their speech.

The state winner is Meikah Dado, Amery FFA Chapter. The first runner-up is Scott Pittz of the Mineral Point FFA Chapter. In third place is Mason Jauquet, Pulaski FFA Chapter. Winning fourth place is Sarah Van Asten, Wrightstown FFA Chapter.

The prepared speaking contest is designed to recognize FFA members for their ability to present factual information on specific agricultural issues in a well-thought-out and logical manner in a competitive setting. Speeches are six to eight minutes in length. Participants also answer five minutes of judges’ questions. The state winner is Braden Kundert,  Badger FFA Chapter. The first runner-up is Lilly Fieder, New Holstein FFA Chapter. The third-place winner is Taylor Eilers, Waupaca FFA Chapter. Taking fourth place is Katelyn Zimmerman, Spencer FFA Chapter.

In the creed contest, participants recite the FFA Creed and answer three questions to test their understanding of the creed. Sati Bailey, Riverdale FFA Chapter is the state winner. Xander Jansen, Neillsville FFA Chapter is the first runner-up. Blake Johnson, Holmen FFA Chapter, won third place. Katie Yanke of Sauk Prairie FFA is the fourth-place winner.

The discussion meet contest tests the abilities of FFA members in cooperatively discussing ag issues, exchanging ideas and information, and finding solutions to problems.

The state winner in the discussion meet contest is Kendra Spier, Cambridge FFA Chapter. Emily Kruse, of the Elkhorn FFA Chapter is the first runner-up. Mason Jauquet, Pulaski FFA Chapter, took third place. Kellie Kjeseth, of the Amery FFA Chapter, is the fourth-place winner.

The parliamentary procedure contest develops leadership ability and increases knowledge in conducting meetings using proper parliamentary procedure. Each parliamentary procedure team, consisting of five to seven members, has 10 minutes to demonstrate “parliamentary abilities” while discussing the topic given to them by the judges.

Amery FFA is the state winner in the parliamentary procedure contest. Granton FFA is the first runner-up. Platteville FFA finished in third place, while Ellsworth FFA is the fourth-place team.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.