Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IL
Start Circulating Commodity Elections Petitions

Start Circulating Commodity Elections Petitions

Elections for corn, soybean and sheep and wool boards will be held July 6. Petitions must be turned in by May 15 for corn and soy boards.

Farmers who would like to run this year for a three-year term on the Illinois Corn Marketing Board, Illinois Soybean Program Operating Board or Illinois Sheep and Wool Marketing Board can now start circulating nominating petitions.

Petitions are available at county Extension offices and the Illinois Department of Agriculture. The deadline to complete and return them is May 15 for corn and soybean board candidates and May 31 for sheep and wool board candidates.

Producers must be at least 18 years old, have produced and marketed the pertinent commodity during the 2011 commodity year, reside in the district to be represented and have submitted a valid petition by the filing deadline to be eligible for election.

Elections for all three boards will be held July 6. For more information, call the Illinois Department of Agriculture at (217) 782-6675 or write to: Illinois Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Marketing and Promotion, P.O. Box 19281, State Fairgrounds, Springfield, Ill., 62794-9281.

A list of counties holding commodity elections follows:

Corn Marketing Board

District 1:   Boone, McHenry, Lake, DeKalb, Kane, Cook, DuPage, Kendall, Will

District 4:   Whiteside, Lee, Bureau, Stark, Marshall, Putnam

District 7:   Woodford, McLean, Dewitt, Macon, Piatt, Moultrie

District 10:  Scott, Morgan, Sangamon, Greene, Jersey, Calhoun, Macoupin

District 13:  Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash, White

Soybean Program Operating Board

District 1:  Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Boone, Carroll, Ogle, DeKalb, Lee

District 5:  Knox, Peoria, Marshall, Putnam, Fulton, Tazewell

District 7:  Ford, Iroquois, Vermilion

District 9:  Mason, Logan, Cass, Menard, Morgan, Sangamon

District 12:  Pike, Scott, Calhoun, Greene, Macoupin, Jersey

District 13:  Montgomery, Bond, Fayette, Marion

Sheep and Wool Marketing Board

District 1:  Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, Boone, McHenry, Lake, Carroll, Ogle, DeKalb, Kane, Cook, Du Page, Whiteside, Lee

District 4:  Bureau, Putnam, LaSalle, Stark, Marshall, Peoria, Woodford, Tazewell

District 7:  Madison, Bond, Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Crawford, St. Clair, Clinton, Washington, Marion, Jefferson, Clay, Wayne, Richland, Edwards, Lawrence, Wabash, Randolph, Perry, Franklin, Hamilton, White, Monroe, Jackson, Williamson, Saline, Gallatin, Union, Johnson, Pope, Hardin, Alexander, Pulaski, Massac

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.