Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Sorenson Re-elected American Jersey Cattle Association President

Sorenson Re-elected American Jersey Cattle Association President
David Endres of Lodi was elected to fifth term as president of National All-Jersey Inc.

Officers and directors of the USJersey organizations were elected during the annual meetings of the American Jersey Cattle Association and National All-Jersey Inc. hosted by the High Plains Jersey Cattle Association in Amarillo, Texas.

NEW OFFICERS: The Board of Directors of the American Jersey Cattle Association for 2013-14 is pictured following the 145th Annual Meeting in Amarillo, Texas on June 29. Pictured, front row, from left: Neal Smith, Executive Secretary & CEO; President Chris Sorenson, Pine River; Vice President Ralph Frerichs, LaGrange, Texas; and Phil Gordon, Syracuse, Ind.; back row: Charles Luchsinger, Syracuse, N.Y.; Corey Lutz, Lincolnton, N.C.; Sam Bok, Defiance, Ohio; Walter Owens, Frederic; David Norman, Liberty, Penna.; C. A. Russell, Hilmar, Calif.; and Thomas J. Seals, Cloverdale, Ore. Not pictured: Jim Quist, Fresno, Calif.

Chris Sorenson of Pine River was re-elected as president of the American Jersey Cattle Association during the annual meeting on June 29. Sorenson is a partner in Hillview Jersey Farm, a family corporation formed in 1982. The 850-acre farm is home to a 100-cow registered Jersey herd enrolled on REAP, a comprehensive service package offered by the American Jersey Cattle Association that includes registration, Equity milk marketing support, type appraisal, and performance testing.

Elected as vice president was Ralph Frerichs, La Grange, Texas. Frerichs, who was named chair of the AJCA Development Committee, will also serve as an ex-officio director of National All-Jersey Inc. for the coming year.

Sam Bok, Defiance, Ohio, was elected to a three-year term as AJCA Director from the Fourth District, succeeding William Grammer, Sebring, Ohio. He and wife Julie own and operate Boks Jersey Farm, a 450-cow herd enrolled in AJCA's REAP program. He is a delegate to the board of COBA/Select Sires and represents his county for the Farm Service Agency. He served on the board for Defiance Landmark Inc. for nine years.

Walter Owens of Frederic was elected to the board of directors from the Seventh District. Owens is a partner in Owens Farms Inc. with his wife, Joyce, and brothers Wilfred and Roger and their wives. Owens has served as president of the Wisconsin Jersey Breeders Association and is currently a member of the Jersey sire committee for Select Sires Inc. He served on the Wisconsin Department of Commerce's Dairy 20/20 Initiative and for more than 30 years on the Polk-Burnett DHI Board, 10 years as president.

Thomas L. Seals, Cloverdale, Ore., was elected to a three-year term as AJCA Director from the Tenth District, succeeding Jamie Bansen, Dayton, Ore. He is a partner in Sun Valley Jersey Farm with his parents, Bearl and Joanne Seals, and brothers, Dave and Jeff. Seals is a past member of the AJCA Type Advisory Committee (2006-2010) and received the Young Jersey Breeder Award with his wife Jennie in 2000.


C. A. Russell, Hilmar, Calif., was elected as an AJCA Director from the Twelfth District. Russell and his wife, Kirsten, own and operate Yosemite Jersey Dairy, a 2,300-cow dairy enrolled in AJCA's REAP program. They are also partners in Clauss Dairy Farms Dalhart, a 3,800-cow and 1,800-calf operation, and are partners in Dalhart Jersey Ranch, a 26,000-head heifer facility in Dalhart, Texas. Russell serves on the Board of Directors for Hilmar Cheese Company.

Chairs of standing committees on the AJCA Board for 2013-14 are Jerry Spielman, Seneca, Kan., Finance; Corey Lutz, Lincolnton, N.C., Breed Improvement; Ralph Frerichs, Development; and James Quist, Fresno, Calif., Information Technology & Identification.

Endres re-elected
Following the annual meeting of National All-Jersey Inc. on July 28, David Endres of Lodi was elected to serve his fifth term as president by the board of directors. James S. Huffard III, Crockett, Va., was re-elected vice president as was the chairman of the Finance Committee, Kelvin Moss, Litchfield Park, Ariz.

Mike Wickstrom, Hilmar, Calif., was elected to a third term as director from District #2. John H. Kokoski, Hadley, Mass., was re-elected to serve a third term as District #3 Director. Calvin Graber, Parker, S.D., was re-appointed by the AJCA board of directors as a director at-large.

Source: USJersey

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.