Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Six Recognized with 2012 Master Agriculturist Award

Six Recognized with 2012 Master Agriculturist Award
Awards program is oldest farm awards program in the state dating back to 1930.

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board and Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C. of Chilton, presented the 2012 Master Agriculturist Awards to six top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Those receiving the award are Paul Buhr of Viroqua, Rosalie Geiger of Reedsville, Dale Hines of Ellsworth, and Greg, Jason and Travis Lindner all of Oxford. The honorees were recognized at an awards program March 28 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Oshkosh.

MASTER AGRICULTURISTS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are: (from left) Greg, Travis and Jason Lindner, all of Oxford, Rosalie Geiger of Reedsville, Dale Hines of Ellsworth and Paul Buhr of Viroqua.

The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and also for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families. The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture. It dates back to 1930, when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

"Honoring Master Agriculturists is a great tradition for Farm Progress," says Willie Vogt, corporate editorial director for Wisconsin Agriculturist and Farm Progress. "Historically, these agricultural leaders in the community have also been innovators for a wide range of technologies. We're looking forward to a long future honoring the state's best and brightest."

To nominate a Wisconsin farmer for a Master Agriculturist award, go the Wisconsin Agriculturist website at and click on Master Agriculturist or send an email to [email protected] or call the office at 920-346-2285. Deadline for nominations for the 2013 awards is Dec. 1.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.