Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Six New Members Join Junior Angus Board of Directors

Six New Members Join Junior Angus Board of Directors
Newly elected directors will serve a two-year term

At the 2013 National Junior Angus Show in Kansas City, Mo., six junior members were elected to the join the 12-person National Junior Angus Association Board of Directors.

The newly elected directors were chosen by delegates representing each state at the 2013 NJAS. They will serve a two-year term and travel across the country to various events, while promoting the Angus breed and helping youth succeed in the NJAA. The NJAA board members' first activity is the Leaders Engaged in Angus Development conference in New Orleans, La., August 1-4.

Newly elected directors (back row) will serve a two-year term.

The new additions to the 2013-2014 NJAA Board of Directors are: Will Fiske, Greenville, Va.; Shane Kerner, Weiser, Idaho; Jessica Radcliffe, Weston, Wis.; Lindsay Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa.; Cory Watt, Iva, S.C.; and Tylee Jo Williams, Rio Vista, Texas.

Fiske has served as President of the Virginia Junior Angus Association and will complete his senior year at Virginia Tech this fall. Fiske will receive his degree in animal sciences with a minor in agricultural economics.

Kerner is a current member of the Idaho and Northwest Junior Angus Association. This fall, Kerner will be attending Kansas State University and working toward her degree in animal sciences, with an emphasis in business and communications.

Radcliffe is a member of the Wisconsin Junior Angus Association and a student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She is pursuing a degree in agricultural and consumer economics with a concentration in agribusiness markets and management, as well as a minor in animal sciences.

Upperman is a member of the Pennsylvania Junior Angus Association and a recent graduate of Butler Community College, where she received her associates of science in agriculture. This fall, she will attend Kansas State University and major in animal sciences with a minor in biotechnology.

Watt will enter his senior year at Clemson University this fall, where he studies animal and veterinary science, with a focus in agriculture business.

Williams is a sophomore at Texas Tech University and is pursuing a degree in agricultural communications.

Also at the NJAS, second-year NJAA board members were elected to officer positions. Named chairman was Jacy Alsup, Gravette, Ark.; Vice Chairman, Daniel McFarland, Keithville, La.; Communications Director, Maggie Jasper, Versailles, Ky.; Membership Director, Jena Wagner, Billings, Mont.; Leadership Director, Paige Wallace, Scotts City Mo.; and Foundation Director, Lucas Nord, Wolverton, Minn.

New faces also mean six board members said their goodbyes to the NJAA. Those who retired from the board are: JanLee Rowlett, Hurricane Mills, Tenn.; Sally Yon, Ridge Spring, S.C.; Jennifer Ewing, Rushville, Ill.; Megan Ahearn, Wills Point, Texas; Kelli Retallick, Glen Haven, Wis.; and Meghan Blythe, White City, Kan.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.