Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Six More Wisconsin Counties Declared a State of Disaster

Twenty-eight counties eligible for federal assistance.

Gov. Jim Doyle announced Thursday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared a state of disaster for Adams, Calumet, Green Lake, Jefferson, La Crosse and Walworth counties, bringing the number of Wisconsin counties where individual assistance is available to 28.

"We have worked continuously to ensure that help is getting to the people who have been hit hard by floods and severe weather, and I want to thank FEMA for now extending assistance across southern Wisconsin," Doyle said.

Wisconsin residents so far have received approximately $3.2 million in federal and state disaster assistance grants. Officials continue to urge homeowners, renters and business owners who sustained storm and flood-related damage to register by calling 1-800-462-FEMA (3362) or registering online at  

The assistance to Wisconsin families includes the following statistics:
• 15,212 residents have registered for Individual Assistance in the 22 previously declared Wisconsin counties.
• $2.8 million in Individual Assistance has been distributed for temporary housing and home repairs.
• $401,000 has been provided for other disaster needs such as transportation, medical and dental expenses, moving and storage fees, and replacement or repair of personal property.
• 4,485 home inspections have been completed.
• 1,293 individuals have visited the seven Wisconsin Disaster Recovery Centers.

Disaster Recovery Centers

A Disaster Recovery Center will open Wednesday, June 25 at 10:00 a.m. in Winnebago County at South Park School,1551 Delaware St., Oshkosh.

Seven DRCs remain open daily from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the locations below:

Public Safety Building
128 Cross St.

Portage High School
301 E. Collins St.

Columbus High School
1164 Farnham Ave.

North Crawford High School
47050 County X
Soldiers Grove

Living Faith Church
852 N. Main St.

Reedsburg High School
1100 S. Albert Ave.

Milwaukee County Rehab Center City Campus
2711 W. Wells St.

Additional DRCs will be opening in the upcoming days in the remaining effected counties.

In addition to the counties named, FEMA has made federal assistance available to those living in Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, Kenosha, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.